We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but lacks professional organization” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mandala Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mandala Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Mandala Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ban Phiawat, 33 Unit 10, Sisatanak District, Vientiane 01000, Laos   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 81 Hotels in Vientiane
Den Haag
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel but lacks professional organization”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. It's a beautiful house and our room was beautiful decorated. The staff is very friendly. However there was no hot water, and low pressure. Breakfast starts at 7 am but when we entered the restaurant at 7.15 nothing was ready. There was no bread, no fruits, no coffee or thee. There is one thing they have to understand you're dealing with paying guests and not with friends who stay over . So when breakfast starts at 7 am everything has to be ready and not at 7.30 !

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    48
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
47
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Nice boutique hotel. We were welcome, all the staff is very nice. As they were renovating the entrance and the garden, we could not enter with our car. They offered to put it in a nearby enclosed garden, which we appreciated.
The construction is really lousy, windows not properly closing, door of our bathroom staying wide open. The plumbing system is very poor. No hot water in the shower, lukewarm water in the bath.
We had a nice suite on the first floor, our daughter had a very dark room on the ground floor (behind the breakfast room), the bathroom had no door, just a curtain. Luckily, she was alone in the room. For a couple, that can be embarrassing.
The breakfast is OK. Good bread and croissants, good local jams and fruit yogurts, a small fruit salad, very fresh (usually, you have to wait for it, as the dish is empty). Any kind of eggs can be ordered and they are always perfectly cooked.
The beds are comfortable but the insulation is very poor, you can hear everything going on next door or even further. If your neighbours are quiet, you have a very good sleep. If not... you are are unlucky and can do nothing about it.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the first floor. Rooms 402 and 403 are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The hotel was a bit far from town. Took about a 20 minute walk to get in which can be frustrating although there is a lot to explore around the hotel. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Beds were soft enough for a good nights sleep however in the middle of the night you could hear a pin drop it was so quiet. Nice furnishing however it can be a little dark in the room. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. Still a work in progress I think the hotel is still developing. There's a lot of mosquitos around so bring insect repellent. Great value for money for a clean and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

once you entere the nice and charming gardens, and then the reception are, you will feel like you are entering someone's home - not a hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is also full of tasteful interior and many nice sitting areas in the lovely gardens. We found the food really good and the rooms are clean. Its quite a bit of walking distance to the downtown, but walking along the river side, which is very near to the hotel, was so pleasant. We stayed in Deluxe room and we just loved it.
We certainly will come back to this charming place again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had a great three night stay at the Mandala - rooms were large, great beds and good bathrooms. The hotel is a 10-15min walk into the centre, and each evening, we walked along the riverside promenade which was lovely. Breakfasts were good, served in the garden as new restaurant area was not quite finished. We also ate lunch and dinner one day, both of which were of good quality. We also spent some time chilling out on the day beds and cushions in the side garden, which was really nice. We would definitely stay again and really recommend here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was beautiful.
Pros:The rooms were comfortable with soft beds and great aircon. Also well equipted with complimentary tea and plunger coffee etc. Breakfast was nice,with fresh pastries+4 cooked options + drinks. Property was pretty, especially at night.

Cons:the shower had very little pressure.

Facilities:wifi was excellent, transport to country (vv) was organised for 50 000 kip at the front desk for VIP bus. We especially appreciated staff keeping our big bags for us while we travelled for a couple of days.

Location: about 15 mins walk from the city centre. Only 5 mins walk from the Cope visitor centre, there is also an international store just around the corner.

Staff: spoke good English and were attentive to individual needs.

Overall, it was a pleasure to stay at the Mandala and we would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel is totally overpriced for the quality of service on offer. The breakfasts provided each morning are average to say the least. The location is not that convenient. There is no bar to enjoy a drink and a chat in the evening. There is no nice restaurant that encourages guests to enjoy the garden environment. There is dare I say it....no atmosphere to the entire establishment. To Mandala's credit the rooms and linen are all clean and well maintained.

Don't be fooled by the hotels website, which seems to imply that there is a restaurant that serves food in the evening. At no point in the evening did I see a meal being served in the communal breakfast area. Furthermore after a long day of walking about the city, I returned to the hotel hoping for a refreshing beverage (which I planned to drink in the garden). I went into the area where breakfast was served hoping to get a refreshing drink. The staff basically looked at me blankly and said that they had no drinks for purchase. This is a hotel that could be quite a nice place to stay however currently management basically have no clues about how to create a warm, friendly and relaxed environment. In fact one particular staff member running reception came across as plain rude. I.e. No friendly greeting when we arrived, no "I hope you enjoyed your stay" when we left, etc, etc. My advice, look elsewhere you will most likely find more reasonably priced accommodation in the centre of town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandalaBoutiqueHotel, Owner at Mandala Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Customer

We regret that you were not fully satisfied with our restaurant service. In fact, since nearly one month our restaurant has been under renovation or reconstruction. And that was the reason why we were not able to offer full restaurant service.

We are looking to offering both the hotel and local customers a very fine dining place in the middle of the peaceful gardens of our stylish hotel, with a great wine selection. Our hotel is in partnership with a very well-known in Vientiane and it wont be long until we are ready to offer our restaurant and bar service again.

We appreciate your advice and apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced.

Best regards
Keochay Seeli
Hotel Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandala Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandala Boutique Hotel

Address: Ban Phiawat, 33 Unit 10, Sisatanak District, Vientiane 01000, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 81 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandala Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Vientiane changes, so does our villa. Originally built as a private residence for a French family in the 1960s, the site became a school with up to 500 children in 1992 before it was turned into a hotel at the beginning of this century. Despite the changes, our guests still can feel the privacy and comforts of home in each corner of the hotel. The four original buildings host 23 newly designed rooms and are surrounded by a green and cozy garden with seats under large shady trees. The Mandala Boutique Hotel is located in a small side road away from the busy streets of Vientiane, but within walking distance to the city center and just a 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mandala Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandala Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.