We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wife's "go to" place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Veena Cafe

Veena Cafe
Sisaket 123 | Phai Nam Road, Vientiane, Laos
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 222 restaurants in Vientiane
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Entebbe, Uganda
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“My wife's "go to" place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

When my wife craves something different from the normal Lao food - she says "let's go to Veena." The Lao salads are tasty (veggies cleaned properly - never had a stomach issue) and the steaks are quite good and cheap.

Nice cold drinks and you can end the meal with a proper espresso. Service is not bad and parking is available on the street.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    6
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Veena Café offers probably the best T-bone steak in town. This is obvious from the packed lunchtime atmosphere. By local standards it’s not cheap but it’s worth every kip, dollar or baht.

The restaurant, which is in the centre of town, is tastefully furnished and an ideal place for a business meal. The service is efficient and polite.

There are also a variety of fresh salads on the menu. What I particularly like about the restaurant is that you can ask for some variations on an order and they will gladly accommodate you.

And don’t forget to try the delicious fish steak.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“WHY is this place not number 1?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Dont even bother reading this review, just go.

Veena Cafe is by far some of the most amazing food I have had in SE Asia.

Service is absolute top notch, setting comfortable and trendy and the food is absolutely incredible.

We stayed just around the corner at the gorgeous Soukxana Guesthouse and ate here on quite a few occasions. Fried fish with garlic, sweet and sour fried fish, sirloin steak, tenderloin steak, golden pork, chicken salad, coffee..... just amazing.

This place does not get enough credit.... visit now! You wont regret it

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katunayake, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Steaks I can Swear !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The best steaks i ever had in Laos, also i love their bread & salad, perfect dressing just the way i liked it , the couple Mr & Mrs Sin also speak Russian,,,,,, also they have a good selection of wines & cocktails to top it .

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best steaks in Vientiane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This restaurant has the best steaks that we could find in Vientiane - in a quiet location - extremely clean - great service and we have only had better steaks at home in Australia. This was our favourite restaurant in Vientiane.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veena Cafe also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Veena Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veena Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.