We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay - feels like home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moonlight Champa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moonlight Champa
Save
You added Moonlight Champa to your Saves list
13 Pangkham Road | Chanthaboury District, Vientiane, Laos (Formerly Soukxana Guesthouse)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 178 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay - feels like home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We loved our stay in the Moonlight Champa. Upon arrival a note was scribbled onto the chalkboard welcoming us - what a nice touch! The owners Brad and Isabella are both incredibly friendly and helpful, as are Mr. Lei and the rest of the staff - I really can't say enough good things about them all - always welcoming, with big smiles on their faces, and happy to help out with any queries, recommendations, etc. If you're chilling out in the lobby area they'll offer you a coffee - really just the nicest people and best hotel staff I've ever had in Asia.

We opted for the deluxe room which has a balcony overlooking the front of the Settha Palace Hotel. It was lovely being able to finish off our evenings in Vientiane with a nice drink on the balcony. The rooms are clean, the beds are super comfortable, and the lobby is very welcoming and comfortable, a nice place to chill out for a bit, inside or out. Location is good - only short walks to the morning market, fountain, museum and temples. At 250,000kip (approx $33) it's a bargain.

Because of how great the staff are, how welcome I was made to feel, and how in just two nights it had already felt like home - I would highly recommend staying in the Moonlight Champa as a terrific budget option, and when I return to Vientiane I'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    43
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
81
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights and I was very impressed. The room was spotlessly clean, staff very helpful. I didn't think it overpriced for what it is. Most importantly, the staff cared about whether their guests had a good time, had questions etc. I would really recommend it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We are just back from our second trip to Moonlight Champa, it is officially our Laos home.

We fell in love with the place on our first visit due to the incredible staff, wonderful room, and inviting lobby. The staff are makes the place so fantastic, they are super friendly and very knowledgable. I love traveling with a local and they provided that same experience. Each trip they give us great recommendations for places to eat and things to do. They even went so far as to take us and other guests to an incredible Korean BBQ, complete with hot pots full of burning coals. We would have never found that place on our own and it was great fun to enjoy with other guests. (Not to mention an impromptu dinner with other guests in the lobby the first night, after a trip to the night market.)

The lobby is my other favorite feature for other guests hang out downstairs, so you can meet other interesting travelers. The guesthouse seems to attract awesome people.

The rooms were all recently renovated to have super comfy beds, with a down comforter, which I used as the AC is ice cold. The bathrooms are very clean; a single room for sink, toilet and shower (no separate shower space).

Free coffee, tea and water is provided. They don't provide breakfast, but given the huge list of restaurant recommendations, it would be a shame to miss any on the list. Their list is seriously the best.

Moonlight Champa was the first place we stayed over seas and it is the unbelievably high standard that I measure all places too...so am generally disappointed. They just can't compare.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Moonlight Champa. As many reviewers have mentioned, the best feature of this guest house is the staff. They sit you down with a map and give you a nice overview of the city and the main attractions. They can also answer your questions about traveling throughout Laos.

Our double room was very small and the bathroom even smaller. It's a bit cramped for two people. But the bed was comfortable and the wifi worked well. Overall, it wasn't bad.

The location is okay. You are away from the river a bit, but you can walk there in a few minutes. There are some interesting things to see in the nearby areas, but we often wished we were a little closer to the restaurants and cafes near the river.

The only real negative aspect of Moonlight Champa for me was the lack of an included breakfast. Good restaurants are a few minutes walk away, and it was just a little inconvenient.

Is it a good value? For the money, you get a small but clean room and excellent information from the owners. But you are little bit away from the heart of town and no breakfast. Overall, we thought it was a decent value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We only stayed in Vientiane for one night and picked Moonlight based on tripadvisor reviews.

The room was well appointed, modern and spotlessly clean but small for the price. Also the (tiny) bathroom had a funny smell about it.

Staff were extremely helpful. Our bus to Vientiane was hugely delayed so we didn't arrive until after midnight but they were expecting us. They also helped us plan our one day in Vientiane and onward journey to Si Phan Don.

Location was fine but if I was to go to Vientiane again I would stay a bit closer to the river.

If it was a bit cheaper we would have given it 4 stars.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Comfortable bed, welcoming staff, free bicycles, perfect location and extremely clean. Vientiane was my first stop on a 5 week trip around South East Asia and moonlight champa was the perfect place to start out and get my Asian bearings. The staff make you feel so comfortable and just love to chat :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place to stay. Spotless room and comfy bed. Friendly staff. Easy stroll to all city centre attractions. No breakfast service but free coffee, and there are good eateries close by. Google map has former name: souxkana. Easy 10 min walk from downtown bus stand.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moonlight Champa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Champa

Address: 13 Pangkham Road | Chanthaboury District, Vientiane, Laos (Formerly Soukxana Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonlight Champa is perfectly situated in a quiet, leafy neighborhood just five minutes walk from Namphu and the heart of Vientiane. It has been totally renovated in a modern and minimalist style. All our rooms have windows,air conditioning and free WiFi along with the comfiest beds in town so that you can enjoy your day fully rested and relaxed. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonlight Champa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.