We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind. Very interesting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buddha Park

Buddha Park
Vientiane, Laos
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 32 attractions in Vientiane
Type: Parks, Monuments/ Statues
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This sculpture park is a collection of hundreds if Buddhist and Hindu statues scattered around a meadow.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“One of a kind. Very interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I read mixed reviews of this site but decided to visit it anyway and I am glad I did. I took bus number 14 from the main bus station in Vientiane; then changed into another small bus at a bus stop outside Vientiane. It was easy. The second bus goes on a bumpy road though. Coming back, the same bus (no change) from Buddha Park arrived to the main bus staion.Takes about an hour or so one way. The park itself in not very big but it is full of unusaul statues which I have not seen elsewhere in the world. The statues are in abudance and each one has its own charecteristics.
There is a gift shop and small restaurant on the park.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    204
    106
    30
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Only if you have time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The place is far and can only be accessed by a REALLY bumpy dirt road. It's about 20 minutes to the Thanaleng station so it's out of the way if you will be staying only in Vientiane. It's a small park with Buddha statues (as the name implies). I'm sure there are a lot of interesting stories but we didn't have a guide so we weren't able to appreciate it that much. We went really to kill some time and took A LOT of photos.

There's a cafe / restaurant beside it to cool off and take some refreshments. They serve ok food. Nothing special or particularly good but it's decent.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Buddha theme park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

An interesting experience. If you have gone to the trouble of visiting Laos then go to some extra trouble to visit the Buddha Park. Probably won't see anything like this elsewhere. Also, if you have a guide to tell you the stories behind the statues then it is quite interesting. An added attraction is you can see the Mekong being pillaged for sand and gravel for construction on the way..an environmental disaster in the making.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Eccentric attraction worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very unusual for Asia- a bit like the Asian equivalent of Spanish Gaudi. Best to go with someone who can explain what statues mean re buddha's life. Quite a way out of town and road gets rough with lots of trucks. Interest along the way to building biggest US embassy in SE Asia in vientienne and u pass by it - it's really big. Laos looks to be next US-China "battlefield".US should have cleaned up their cluster bombs before building new embassy!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Impressive collection of big buddha's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The park has an impressive collection of big buddha's and other statues. There is one statue that you can enter and that gives a nice view of the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddha Park also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Buddha Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddha Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Buddha Park to your Saves list