We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buddha Park

Buddha Park
Vientiane, Laos
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$40*
and up
Private Tour: Xieng Khuan Buddha Park and Lao...
Ranked #7 of 26 Attractions in Vientiane
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This sculpture park is a collection of hundreds if Buddhist and Hindu statues scattered around a meadow.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Weird.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I'm originally from Florida in the 50's and 60's and this reminded me of the weird tourist traps we had. It can be fun but it's pretty far out from the city on a dusty road.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    235
    133
    36
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
katmandu
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

i have always adored this religious Disneyland!
in a green park there is the most beautiful display of hindu gods and goddessess and Buddhas,made in the very personal style by a laotian guru ,whosw fantasy reminds of Gaudi.
enter in the big pumpkin and se the paradise,purgatory and hell rapresentation and climb to the top,from where you can have the view of all the statues.
this place has a twin on the opposite side of the Mekong river,just out of Nong Khai.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Worth It If You Have Time To Spare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The park is an unusual collection of moderately interesting statues not all of which looked like buddhas. If you've got several days in Vientiane it's a worthwhile trip to burn a half a day but if you're short on time might be worth skipping. If you've been to the White Temple or Black House in Chiang Rai you might be disappointed (in my opinion). Note that there is a decent restaurant on the river side of the park. The cost to enter the park is 5000 kip plus 3000 kip if you want to use your camera. The WC is the standard 2000 kip. If you've got kids keep a watchful eye on them if going up the large orb (worthwhile for the view of the park). It wouldn't take much to go tumbling over the edge.

To get there take the #14 from the Talat Sao bus station (near the morning market). The fare is 6000 kip per person and the bus attendants will come and collect it from you once underway. The bus will take you as far as the Friendship Bridge where you can catch another smaller bus for the park. If the #14 bus is stuck in a line-up at the turn-off to the Friendship Bridge consider jumping off around the junction and wait at the other side of the street to flag down the smaller bus that will continue your journey eastbound. We almost missed the smaller bus had it not been for someone recommending we get out and dash across to the other side of the street. The smaller bus journey is on a rough, bumpy and dusty road so it's slow going. Bring your dust mask if you have one. The bus costs 2000 kip. The journey takes a little over an hour.

To get back from the park do it all in reverse. If the bus is going in the wrong direction consider waiting until it returns and enjoy the ice cream or the park bench. If you jump on at this point, you'll simply bump your way down the dusty road another kilometer or so and then possibly wait in the bus while the driver takes a break. The driver we had honked and waited both times he drove by so don't worry too much about waiting right at the side of the road.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a middle big park filledwith statues of Buda and similar, it's nice to see everything in one place.. But be awared of the tuk tuk drivers because they tell you that it's not possible to get to the park by bus, which is not true. The bus number 14 is driving there almost every 30 minutes, it costs about 5000 Kip and the bus stops right outside the door of the park. The drive is around 45 min and the roads are bad, because they are do some conastructions there..

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“almost surreal...understated but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had no idea what to expect when we decided on doing the trip to Buddha park. We had an extra day and time to kill. Booked a hired car and journey took about an hour. We were gald we decided to splurge a little for a hired car as the roads were pretty bad. We would have arrived with sore bums if we had taken a tuktuk.
The scenery to the park was dull and unmemorable. the park was almost deserted when we arrived. The sculptures were certainly not high art but had a certain surreal charm. It was as if someone decided to do the park after a healthy dose of acid and weed. We had a marvelous time posing amongst the statues... but then was it because the good company who took this with a pinch of salt and lots of humour? Was it the place itself...Looking back, i wonder...

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddha Park also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Buddha Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddha Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.