We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Sacred Stupa (Pha That Luang)

Great Sacred Stupa (Pha That Luang)
That Luang Road, Vientiane, Laos
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$37*
and up
Ranked #5 of 26 Attractions in Vientiane
Type: Religious Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 24-carat, 45-meter high Buddhist shrine.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
118 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Just Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

i very much appreciate any Buddhist monument but this was truely breathtaking. Well worth seeing its not far from town and you can normally get a tuk tuk ride to all temples

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    188
    77
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“must in vientiane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

beautiful stupa in Vientiane, definitely is worth to visit it, from the opposite side there is a small local market. you can spend here about 30 min (20 min stupa, 10 min market).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We went to visit the Great Sacred Stupa, but ti was closed for lunch, but we waited for about 30 minutes, but we were not allowed to get inside the temple itself except to just walk around the temple which has nothing to see except some old stones or carvings of the Buddha displayed on the corridor. I was expecting much more to see, and it was a great disappointment to me.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The Sacred Stupa, Laos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This structure was awesome in its size. Monks and other devout Buddhists go there to worship. The That Luang Festival is held every November during the first full moon and lasts for a week. There are many festivities that take place. See the pictures of this amazing stupa at my site
http://womentravellingalone.blogspot.com/2010/04/vientiane-laos.html

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakse, Laos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Photo fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a great place to take pictures. There are tons of statues and such. Even a restaurant. It is quite out of the way, and unless I had a lot of time in the city, I wouldn't waste the time.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Sacred Stupa (Pha That Luang) also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Great Sacred Stupa (Pha That Luang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Sacred Stupa (Pha That Luang), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.