We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need a better wifi connection” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Khounxay Hotel

Save Saved
You added Khounxay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Khounxay Hotel
Unit 21, T2 Road, Nakham Village, Sikhotabong District, Vientiane, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 79 hotels in Vientiane
Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Need a better wifi connection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed for one night in this hotel. The hotel is near the airport but far from the city center, so you still have to travel by tuk-tuk (costs around LAK20,000/pax) or by cab (~LAK50,000/cab). The place seemed very quiet when we were there or only a few people were staying in this hotel because of the location. The room was reasonably clean but the tiles in the bathroom were not. The wifi connection in our floor was also very slow. In fairness, their food was really good especially the steamed fish with 3 sauces.

Room Tip: Their food is good but service can be slloooow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
1
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

one of the most terrible hotels I've experienced.

First, restroom has no bathtub and there water facility is a kind of instant-hot-water-maker imported from South Korea. So, showers are uneasy and flushing is problem.

WiFi in a room basically is OK but has made connection problems several times during my stay.

Breafkast has not many dishes but Lao Coffee and curry are yammy!

Location is between downtown and airport. You shoud take touk-touk to other places.

For the next time, I would not like to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My mother and I stayed here after needing a well deserved rest at the end of a 1.5 month adventure around Thailand and Laos. We spent two very pleasant days here relaxing by the pool, enjoying uor own space. After traveling asia for that long finding some personal space was a relief.
The kitchen provided tastey, well priced food. I would recommend the noodle soup ( I ended up enjoying 3 times)
Unfortunatelly the staff did not speak the best of english and at times it was a little hard to communicate, but we laughed with them alot and they were all pleasant regardless.
It is a only a short walk from the city centre or a 50000 kip tuktuk ride.
VERY affordable (Booked through Agoda @ $24 per night including breakfast)
While visiting Vientiane I would recommend visiting the COPE rehabilitation center. 50000 kip tuk tuk ride and worth every penny. Free entry with alot of interesting information. Donations and profits all go to a great cause. Look them up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Cal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

this hotel is on T2 rd in the car dealership area about 1 km from downtown, so I had a motorbike to get around on, It's fairly new, has a pool and OK breakfast, nice enough staff that could speak english, free airport transfer @ 530 am, I booked a room with agoda and the hotel upgraded me to executive suite, top floor nice view big bathroom, 40 inch flatscreen, good AC, and when I wanted to stat longer they gave me the same room for the same agoda price, If you have a bicycle or motorbike its fine, too far to walk to downtown or walk back at night sort of behind the Mercure hotel another long block, I got treated well there

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Khounxay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khounxay Hotel

Address: Unit 21, T2 Road, Nakham Village, Sikhotabong District, Vientiane, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 79 hotels in Vientiane
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Khounxay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khounxay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.