We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Like This Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mekong Riverside Park

Mekong Riverside Park
By the Mekong River, Vientiane, Laos
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 28 Attractions in Vientiane
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“I Like This Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

It's the place where you'll get the best view of the sunset. So get your camera ready for the best shot.

At evening/night, locals played skate boards, badminton, footballs, local training their dogs and all sorts of activities in at the riverfront. There were army personnel stationed at various spots throughout the riverside. We did our evening run at the riverside. Felt very safe.

Then take a stroll around the food and clothing stalls at the park of the riverside. I like this place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    66
    37
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“HEAP OF ACTIVITIES BEFORE AND AFTER SUNSET”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

On 18 Nov 2012, my wife and I stayed at Best Western Vientiane Hotel. As it was very near to Mekong River, we just took a short walk towards the riverside at around 5.00pm. After crossing the busy road , there was a flat ground where many night market stalls had set up for business. At the western end of the night market, there was a chinese temple . Passing the night market ground, we walked some steps up to reach a metalled road ( but no traffic at all) paved with asphalt with rail guards on bothside and a pedestrian path on the roadside. After the pedestrian path, the ground sloped down 3m or so to the river bank and the river was still at some distance away. Looking futher and up, the sky had become red and colorful due to the sunset.
Before sunset, there were lots of children and parents having a nice time there and some kids were flying kites on the paved road. As darkness began to fall, youngsters came out in pairs and groups strolling along the road . At the same time, the night market's business picked up with more people visiting there. We walked back to the chinese temple, by this time there was an opera show on the stage. There were rows of chairs in front of the stage free for all to sit down and enjoy. It was an enjoyable place that night. If you are staying nearby , this must not be missed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Go in the evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

As it gets cooler in the afternoon lots of people come out to play, dance, walk the dog, meet friends, eat and shop. There's a good kids playground and exercise machines. And a very nice view at sunset.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Development...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I used to love going to the park, relaxing with a beer and a river view. Now you can't see the river from the road. No river view restaurants. Plus there is some road on the other side of the park that totally ruins the view of the gardens and statue. Good place for the kids to run around. And now the Chinese are building monstrosities adjacent to it. Say bye bye to the quiet Mekong sunset beer

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mekong Riverside Park also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Mekong Riverside Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mekong Riverside Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.