We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Settha Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Settha Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Settha Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Pang Kham Street | PO Box 1618, Vientiane, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Vientiane
Noumea, New Caledonia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“charming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

It is really nice to arrive in Vientiane and find this nice colonial style hotel;you can feel and imagine how life was at that time;the hotel is very well maintained and it is a pleasure to walk around the lobby,the dining room and have a drink at the bar;the room are spacious enough and quiet but the bathroom could have been better;the location is central so it is easy to go around just walking;the swimming pool is perfect for relaxing during really hot weather and big enough to swim;service
was very good with a very helpful staff;

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    103
    46
    11
    4
See reviews for
21
144
27
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The Settha Palace is a prime example of the perfect colonial hotel. It has been painstakingly and sensitively restored, remaining in the great traditon of agreeably dated grand hotels. It is reminiscent of the Strand in Rangoon or the Fairview in Nairobi. However it also has all the modern attributes normally expected by travellers - free wifi in the rooms, efficient a/c, and a bathroom without any bad surprises.
The service is pleasant and even the most junior staff are able to help out on advice about the city, computer connections and quick and painless check out. In fact one of front office doubles up as driver of the hotel's two splendid London taxis.
The buffet breakfast is good but dinners and lunches are outstanding.ingwith the full range.
The only very minor citicism I have is that the lighting arrangements in the rooms are complicated and unlabelled and I was unable to turn off the lights from the bed.
Finally the bar is everything any nostalgic traveller could wish for.
Would I go back - yes without a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Just as you drive into the property driveway you feel like you are going back in time, the hotel is a two story colonial-mansion-like building surrounded by gardens. The lobby is all marble flooring and dark wood French doors and trim work and wonderfully clean large crystal chandeliers. It is not a large lobby but it is like arriving at a large home or a small country club. The check in process was painless, we sat at a tables in the lobby and we were asked for our passport and the forms were brought to us for signing, while we sipped a local complimentary cold drink and we were given ice-cold hand-towels to freshen up.
We were escorted to the room which was in the first floor and had high ceilings and very tall French doors overlooking one of the side gardens. The AC was on in the room so when we walked into the room the outside heat stayed behind us. The room was ample and well appointed with all the amenities that one would expect in a first class top hotel, it had a little sitting area with a sofa and a couple of chairs. The bathroom was ample but not large, it did have a bathtub and a separate shower stall. The room had complimentary bottle water and we were told that if we needed more that we could ask for more bottles. The bed and linens were fine.
There was a small basket of fruits on the coffee table in front of the little sofa and a hand-written note from the manager, nice touch.
The hotel is located in the center of town although because of the landscaping and the lush gardens around the building you feel like you are in the "country", but all you have to do is walk outside the perimeter fence and you are in a bustling city. The pool is beautiful and very well appointed.
We have to keep in mind that Vientiane and Laos, as a whole country, only recently has become a tourist destination and therefore they do not have much experience dealing with tourism but I felt that they are really trying. One needs to keep in mind that not everyone working at the hotel is fluent in English, but they are really trying and if they do not understand what you are saying they always ask you to wait with a big smile and they get someone that speaks better English, a very nice touch. This really a nice, clean, and tranquil oasis in the middle of this very busy city. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: I did not see a lift so if you have problem navigating stairs, make sure to ask for a ground floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

'Superb and Sublime'

I recently spent 3 wonderful days at the Settha Palace Hotel. This establish is one of finest examples of the remaining Grand Dame hotels in SE Asia. Meticulously restored to it's former grandeur. Interior is Empire styling and it's location is within walking distance of the historic attractions in central Vientiane.

The staff are delightful and the accomodations, dining facilities and food are superb.

The history of the property and it's circular historical course back to the son of the original owner is fascinating and adds to the luster of the setting.

Looking forward to staying with them again my next time in Vientiane.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
522 helpful votes 522 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a real oasis in a busy town. We loved Vientiane even though it isn't a major tourist destination. For a national capital it's small and relaxed. It's late development by comparison with other Asian cities is wonderfully refreshing.

Contrary to some reviewers' opinions, the hotel is a short 5 minute walk from the "action". It has a dignified, sedate character and really makes you feel like your miles away from town. There is a beautiful palm tree-filled garden with a big swimming pool.

Several people have commented on the quality of the staff. I think it's important to remember that Laos is a country which only recently became a tourist destination - at least for higher end travellers. As such, there is no tradition or experience of commercial hospitality. Some of the staff seemed a bit undertrained. And some had difficulty with English but they were all pleasant and trying their best. And I think that, in this context, a hotel like this one is a real find. Most guests appeared to be business people with very few tourists.

The rooms (we had their standard room of which, I believe, there are only four) are a nice size and thoughtfully furnished with repro' antique style furniture. The bed is comfortable, the linens are of good quality and there's a fridge and kettle with coffee. The bathroom is a good size. All lighting was with fluorescent bulbs and commensurately dimmer. There is a tub and separate shower with plenty of hot water.

I took a look at rooms in the Salana and the Ansara. Rooms at both were smaller than here. They were a bit slicker and contemporary. The Salana has no pool. The Ansara's pool is in a (to me) far less appealing treeless garden in a busy part of town.

Several earlier reviews made reference to mosquitoes. We encountered none. And they always find me if they're around.

Breakfast and the delightful dining room are wonderful. There was a more than ample selection of the usual suspects plus fabulous French croissants and pastries. In addition to the buffet, eggs any style are available to order and arrive promptly. The service was attentive and elegant.

We took their English cab shuttle from the airport for US$11.00 and it was a treat.

We left Vientiane by minivan which brings me to one of my few disappointments with this property. Several months before our stay, I emailed the hotel asking about travel options for leaving Vientiane. We travelled to Vang Vieng. The hotel replied that the only transport they could arrange was by private vehicle for several hundred dollars. We made our arrangement through Green Discovery travel once we arrived and booked seats on a shared minivan - about 12 people - for US$10:00 pp with hotel pickup. When I inquired at the front desk as to whether they could arrange this type of transport, they said they could. They just wouldn't let me know this in advance.

All in all I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a charming comfortable hotel in a good location.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Public spaces are beautiful and the structure is very appealing. We opted for one of their standard rooms for our 5 night stay and found it good in every sense. The breakfast buffet is top notch and the dining room is lovely. Because of the heat, I really enjoyed their pool. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. English skills were a bit weak. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. An lovely property.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

To be greeted by unsmiling staff with an attitude is not a pleasant start to a stay. We had booked for three nights at Settha Palace and upon arrival were shown to deluxe rooms that faced neither the pool nor a garden. To add to our displeasure, the rooms were buzzing with mosquitos- the last thing i expect from a 'luxury, boutique hotel'! A simple request for an adaptor (to charge my gadgets) was not met with, despite at least four requests. I was told that the 'engineering department' had been informed!! Our room had the same welcome fruits lying there even on day 3!! The sheets didn't have a fresh, crisp feel and the towels were old and frayed. I didn't feel like I was staying in a special place nor was there a vibrancy and positive air about the property. For Vientiane, this hotel was over-priced and lacked quality and good customer service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SetthaPalaceHotel, General Manager at Settha Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

I apologize that the staff member who served you was not able to be more patient with the many requests made of him.

We have recently increased the frequency of fogging of the hotel grounds and this has significantly reduced the number of mosquitoes and we will continue this and other measures as well.

We have taken note of all your other comments and hope we will have another opportunity in the near future to give you a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Settha Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settha Palace Hotel

Address: 6 Pang Kham Street | PO Box 1618, Vientiane, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vientiane
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Settha Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1930s French colonial heritage building, with high ceilings, period furniture and lighting, beautiful Italian-marble floors and richly crafted rosewood furniture at this luxurious colonial hotel will take you a step back in time. Beautifully restored to its former charm, the Settha Palace is a hotel you will never forget. Relax by the free-form pool with beautifully landscaped surroundings. Indulge your appetite at our French Mediterranean restaurant, La Belle Epoque. Stay connected with modern facilities like wireless internet service. Now with free WIFI in all public areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Settha Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settha Palace Vientiane
Hotel Settha Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Settha Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.