We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lao Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lao Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lao Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 Samsenethai Road, PO Box 6703 | Chanthabury District, Vientiane, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 79 hotels in Vientiane
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
“Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I spent one night in the Lao Plaza Hotel.I had an executive room, the difference to a normal room apparently being the free Internet access (via an LAN cable).At Coffee Shop, I found so many gold medals won by their chef at international culinary competion oversea. It was my big surprise to know that Lao PDR has such a caribre hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    92
    55
    13
    7
See reviews for
12
42
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Las Pinas
Top Contributor
911 reviews 911 reviews
201 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
449 helpful votes 449 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

It was a nice hotel when it was new but it has seen better days. It is badly in need of refurbishing if not serious renovating. It is too pricey for its sad condition. There are better hotels at the same price. Sad because it was a good hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Used to be considered the best hotel in Vientiane and certainly the business hotel of choice. Now it is hard to call it anything but, at best, tatty and in serious need of refurbishment. It is also hideously overpriced compared to what you can find elsewhere.

If you want a "Western" style room then by all means stay here. You are wasting your money though and could do far better.

Last time I stayed the rooms were between 1.4 and 5 million Kip (2011).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Lao Plaza has very good location in middle of Vientiane. Public areas and restaurants are ok. Breakfast selection is good, but rooms are too old. I was there first time about ten years ago and seems that they have not done anything to improve rooms. Also 100 000 kip (12,5USD) for internet connection is rip off. If I compare quality for cost then Vientiane definitely has better choices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Face-lift will not be such a bad idea for Lao Plaza. For the rate they charged me with, I would expect a newer - hotel with a fresher look. The room and bathroom was clean, but I would say that their almost-edwardian furniture was not neatly preserved enough to be called vintage, and they might as well consider replacing them.

It was also too bad that I had to pay LAK100.000 per day (equivalent to USD13) for an unlimited in-room internet access. I would normally expect that a hotel with the size of Lao Plaza would already provide this complimentary as part of their facilities.

The staffs on the other hand were super friendly and helpful, they would know you by names which is one of the superficial hotel values I favor. When I mentioned staffs, I meant all of them - the chauffeur collecting me from airport, front desk agent, housekeeping staff, everyone was friendly. And most of them speak English too, good for me as I then didn't feel lost in translation.

Location wise, the hotel was great. Arriving Sunday morning in Vientiane while my business meetings didn't start until Monday, I took time to wander around the nearby surroundings and found that the hotel was only 15 minutes walking from Mekong river! There is an evening market open everyday by the river, and it was a good spot for souvenir shopping - they sold some pretty cheap good-quality Sinhs (Lao skirt fabric).

Food in the hotel was OK, typical hotel breakfast and menu for room service. But I did try their spicy papaya salad, and finding it quite refreshing (careful, it's hot!).

They have quite a complete gym equipment set despite the small gym area. At least 4 treadmills as far as I remembered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just came back after another week in this hotel. We had an event and brought $1000s to this place. My upgraded room was musty, and the bathroom had mold. Many of the staff do not understand English and at breakfast the manager has a poor attitude and blames it on the staff. Smoking all over. Overall poor customer service in this place. looking forward to the new Thai build hotel in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this Hotel for 7 nights in August and found the staff to be extremely helpful, the rooms were spacious and very comfortable, the pool was great, breakfast was the best we had in Laos. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. There is a mini market, atm and a wine shop in close proximity as well as numerous good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lao Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lao Plaza Hotel

Address: 63 Samsenethai Road, PO Box 6703 | Chanthabury District, Vientiane, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vientiane
#4 Spa Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lao Plaza Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Six-story Hotel located in heart of business district, close to shopping area & 10 km from Wattay Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Lao Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lao Plaza Vientiane
Hotel Lao Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lao Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.