We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing hotel...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Vientiane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Vientiane to your Saves list
Mercure Vientiane
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unit 10 Samsenthai Road | PO Box 585, Vientiane 8562, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 81 Hotels in Vientiane
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Very disappointing hotel...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very disappointing hotel. We got to the hotel, the room smelled like cigarette smoke, we could here everything that was going on in the next room and in the hallway. Our room really needed some renovation (looked like the 70'). We were situated next to the disco, the noise ended around 2:00 am. Internet was NOT free, wich was not acceptable for a 4 star hotel. I will never go there again.

Room Tip: Away from the disco !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    102
    110
    48
    20
See reviews for
26
77
52
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is definitely the restaurant and swimmingpool area - and then this is basically it.... The rooms may be clean, but the interior standard is very low, looks like something from the 70's, the carpets full of stains and very worn.
When booking I made a request for a quiet room, and followed up on that request prior to our arrival - they gave us a room to the poolside, which was ok, BUT it was with a night club as neighbour which had very load music until 2-3 am ! They gave us another room, but it's not fun to stay awake and have to move a 01:45 am inthe night !
Furthermore, Club Accor system messed up big time, because I tried to use my point to book/pay afor the hotel, and despite typing in my password as confirmation during the booking process, I had to pay full price when checking out, and no points used !?!?! And full price for this hotel in Laos is ridiculous expensive compared to other hotels with a much better location.
Only good thing about the hotel : The staff was nice and friendly, but that doesn't make up for all the other mistakes.
Club Accor needs to do something much better than just send an "Sorry for your bad experience bla ba bla..." email, if they want to keep me as a member, because now I've had 2 bad experiences in a row.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Was here for Business trip.
Everything was not running well. The conx wifi wasnt working properly.
After i checked in, they gave me the last room down the aisle. Very far from the stairs and elevator. Yet the condition is terrible. I then complain and ask for a replacement. They did gave me other room. To be honest, i complained quite alot during my 6nights stay. The company set up the acomodation so i have to swallow it.
However, i appreciated the management effort to fix everything right for me and the worst thing is they dont speak proper english. It's quite a challenge for a first timer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Its a Mercure so we were not expecting 5 star facilities. We had been staying in "guest houses" for the past week so we were looking forward to seeing what a Mercure in Laos had to offer.
Well it exceeded our expectation, and we were sorry we didnt get two full days there as we had to leave early on the second morning and missed out on their buffet breakfast which was easily the best spread presented to us in Laos.
The room was reasonably spacious with a fridge, room safe, air conditioning and beautiful dark timber boards for flooring. The pool was a good size and long enough to do laps which I think is necessary if you are to call it a swimming pool. The foyer presents a gracious staircase to the first floor although an elevator is provided. This Hotel is not modern or chic but it was comfortable in every aspect. My only issue was that I could not get the WiFi to work but it may have been an outside issue.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and looked out onto the Hotels"back yard" which was not mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Arriving at the hotel was disappointing. I expected a more up to date hotel. Hotel clearly needs a renovation. I booked it via the Accor site and paid too much for what I was getting. They told me I got an upgrade, but room was still very basic and old. Hated the smell of cigarettes on my way to the room. Service was OK as well as the breakfast. All in all not my best " Mercure experience". .

Room Tip: Be aware of the noise of the frogs at night. Realise this is not all year. Butt still ;=)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

After a 30hr without sleep it was a pleasure to check in and find that I had been upgraded.
I fell into bed and slept for 12 hrs, so the bed was OK. I found the service and friendliness of the staff some of the best in my 3 week trip in Indochina.My room was acceptable but as I was out most of the 3 days I stayed ,not a problem. The dining experience was average apart from breakfast which was great. Spoilt for choice with the array of food. Croissants to die for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with 3 people, room was old and didn't match the pictures on the hotel website at all. E.g. TV was at least 15 or 20 years old, fridge same story. Worst is the windows: single glass and they don't close well so we got a lot of noise from the street. Old carpets etc. so I guess this is a room that urgently needs its facelift.
Staff was extremely friendly and helpfull which is why I didn't complain.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Vientiane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Vientiane

Address: Unit 10 Samsenthai Road | PO Box 585, Vientiane 8562, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Vientiane 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Vientiane is a 4 star hotel located close to both the centre of Vientiane and the airport. As the ideal location for business trips and holidays, the hotel offers a range of conference and leisure facilities. Featuring 172 rooms, the hotel also boasts an executive floor. Relax with a drink while listening to music in one of our three bars, or enjoy a meal in our restaurant. We also offer a fitness centre, outdoor pool, sauna and tennis court. Parking is available for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Vientiane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Vientiane Hotel Vientiane
Hotel Accor Vientiane
Novotel Vientiane
Vientiane Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Vientiane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.