We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Afternoon Tour *NOT IN VIENTIANE, BUT IN PHONSAVAN*” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mulberries

Mulberries
Nokeokoummane Road | Mixay Village, Vientiane, Laos
011.856.21.263.371
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 54 things to do in Vientiane
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mulberries Fair Trade Stores are located in central Vientiane and Luang Prabang old town. Our Organic Mulberry Farm is located in Xieng Khouang province, just outside the city of Phonsavan. We're a short 20min drive from the historic Plain of Jars sites. Please come and visit our farm if you are traveling in the area, tours are available between 8am-4pm Monday-Saturday. For directions see our website.Our aim is to advance a economic, cultural and socially sustainable Lao silk and handicraft enterprise that improves the livelihood of the people we work with. An important part of our work is to ensure that our environmental, cultural and artistic resources are safeguarded for future generations. In purchasing products from Mulberries Fair Trade Stores, you will be supporting the economic livelihood of Lao village communities. You can help us to ensure that traditional skills and artistic designs distinctive to Lao culture are passed on to younger generations.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
188 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“A Nice Afternoon Tour *NOT IN VIENTIANE, BUT IN PHONSAVAN*”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Located about 6km west of downtown Phonsavan, this lovely farm offers free tours. We went by bicycle, and were very impressed by the premises and the quality of the work they do there. On a tour you learn about the silk making process, meet some of the women from many different villages who train and work there, and even get to try a bit yourself. The tour lasts 45-60 minutes.

As said in the title, this farm is NOT in Vientiane and should therefore be considered as an activity to do while visiting Phonsavan.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

these kinds of initiatives need support! was interesting to see all aspects of the process and supporting them by buying products goes without saying

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very pleasant interlude in Laos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Excellent setting and fantastic handmade things to buy. Negotiate having your tuk tuk driver stay for an hour or so and them go back to the hotel happy as Larry

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Only organic & fair trade silk in Laos, a must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We have spent 5 days working with Mulberries in order to realize a video about their project.
The farm is organic & fair trade certified, they produce high quality silk and side products like silk protein packed cosmetics.

We had time to really get to know the people by staying there a few days, learn Miss Kommaly's story, how she started the farm 20 years ago, how she developped it and how they now work with more than 3000 villager of rural Laos.

We also saw quite a few visitors coming to the farm during our shooting there, all looked very interested by the tour, most of them left with a silk scarf from the gift shop because these scarves are just too beautifull to miss out on them.

Enough talks, here is a link to the video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h5TqnlZgY3I

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely place with lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Because we had the Mulberry green tea with our breakfast in Phonsavan we went to the farm a little out of town. The manager welcomed us with open arms and arranged a little tour through the farm. Our tourguide came right out the field and explaned us everything. He apologised for his English but he did a great job. We were really amazed by the way the make the silk. During our trip we visited 2 other silk factory's but this one was by far the most special one. After our tour we talked with the manager (who was nominated for the Nobel price in 2005) and drank a cup of tea.

Don't hesitate to go, it's really worth it!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mulberries also viewed

 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Mulberries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mulberries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.