We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best French restaurants in Vientiane.......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro 22

Bistro 22
22 Samsenthai Road | Ban Khaonyot, Vientiane 0100, Laos
21214129
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 236 Restaurants in Vientiane
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: I believe the chef used to own or run Chez Philippe in Vientiane
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“One of the best French restaurants in Vientiane.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was a return visit to Bistro 22 (formerly Chez Philippe) in Vientiane.

The food was superb. Philippe takes special care of each dish. The atmosphere is truly French Indochinese, an atmosphere quickly disappearing from a fast changing Vientiane. He is doing so well that he is expanding from his current 7 tables to add 7-8 more tables. I am certain that the quality will retain the same high standard.

The service is good and the food most satisfying.

It is not so easy to find, but ask a tuk-tuk to take you to Piya Wat. The restaurant is on Samsenthai Road in back of the Catholic Church and the Piya Wat secondary school.

Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    13
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

A small restaurant set back from a main street with no view outside and very little atmosphere. The menu is reasonable on paper but only average on the plate. Prices are mid range for the city.The wine list is not great and prices about average for Vientiane, Service is not particularly good, though one has the feeling the staff are trying hard.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I had the two course set lunch menu which was very nice. The atmosphere was pleasant and the service very good. The a la carte menu looked fairly pricey but the set menu was excellent value for money. The restaurant is very small and we had to wait a little while for a table so it might be worth booking ahead.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tastey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

Good food good service nice atmosphere
Great for lunch!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious... Until the food poisoning kicks in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

On our last night in Laos we decided to go all out and spend a little extra money to treat ourselves. I got the deep fried apple and camabert salad which was to die for, I would have liked a little more tangy dressing but it was very good. I also had the pumpkin and blue cheese soup that was fabulous,

My boyfriend however had a different experience, he got the cauliflower soup which he enjoyed very much and he got a type of steak that was on the chefs recommendations. He asked for it medium rare and loved it going down. However he has been suffering from food poisoning ever since.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 22 also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Bistro 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro 22, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.