We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn is comfortable and good deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mixok Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mixok Guesthouse to your Saves list
Mixok Guesthouse
126 12 Setthathirath Road | City Centre, Vientiane, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 173 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Inn is comfortable and good deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at the Mixok Inn, not guesthouse. Paid 150,000 kip a night for a double. This seemed to be a good rate compared to the other guesthouses we looked at in the area.

Pros:
Room was clean.
A/C was included in the price.
Wifi worked well and wasn't turned off at night
Friendly staff at front desk.
Breakfast included. Have a choice of pancakces (2) or eggs & a baguette.

Cons:
Tons and tons of mosquitos in our room and no mosquito net.
Could feel springs in the mattress, not the best nights sleep.

Room Tip: No lift, so if you don't want to walk up 4 or 5 flights of stairs, ask for a room on the 2nd or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    35
    27
    10
    9
See reviews for
1
36
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

we stayed there few days and it was nice stay, the price is ok and include breakfast which was pretty good, the location is on a main road but very quiet, the room was nice and cozy, (few meters from the guesthouse there is mixok inn which is more expensive if you interested...)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I enjoying the staying in mixok inn(newbuilding). The staff was helpful and friendly.
The room was cosy and wifi was fast and connection was good.
Equipment of the toilet was new, but the floor a littlt bit dirty.

The room rate was included breakfast,overall, i had enjoyed a good stay in mixok inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I am currently sat waiting for a refund from this guesthouse. We found bed bugs in our room and showed proof to the guy at the desk, who just told me that 'its ok' repeatedly. After showing him pictures of bed bugs online and the horrible bites they can inflict, he informed me that they don't bite you, and he would not give me a refund nor would his manager. He said that all rooms are full so we can't move. Cannot believe this blatant denial when I have two bugs on a piece of paper and can show him many more between bed and head board. Avoid here at all costs.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We came in after a research of differrent gusthouses. We saw a room in the third floor and it smelled like sleeping in an ashtray. We left to see some other rooms around. Since everything else was taken we had no choise but to come back. When we came back 10 minuts later the price sudenlly jumped higher. When i asked why the staff Member mumbled somthing about sombody booking the room...lao people are bad liers. I was so upset i left Right away angry. I was lucky enough to find a diffrent gusthouse that was much more moddest than i intended but at least the people are honest and straightforward. Watch out.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We had pre-booked through Agoda at what we thought was a good deal, but (maybe because it was low season) we wished we hadn't. We paid 160,000 kip per night to discover it was only 150,000 kip rack rate at both the guesthouse and the newer mixok inn (for double with a/c & fan, cable tv, good wifi in the room and breakfast), 4 doors down the street and where breakfast was served (which wasn't an option to book on agoda)

The welcome was ok, and we were given a key and left to find our own way; we had been given 203 at the front of the building where the small communal balcony was overlooking the main road. As we approached the room saw it was still being cleaned, after standard check in time, but being tired just dumped our bags and waited for the lady to finish.

After a while we noticed the room smelled strongly of smoke, which we ascertained was coming through the extractor fan in the bathroom from another room, the smell came and went and so we went to sleep to reasses in the morning.

What an awful night. It was as if someone was chain smoking in the room with us. We tried turning the extractor fan off, air con and fan on, multiple combinations - we didn't want to open the windows because of the noise from the main road and lack of mosquito nets and no matter what we did the smell was just awful.
To top it off we were woke at 5am by some inconsiderate American and his friend sitting on the balcony outside our window smoking and shouting at the top of their voices, obviously drunk and despite numerous bangs on the window they didn't move or attempt to lower their voices.

Waking again a few hours later we decided to go for breakfast and head out for a few hours.
Breakfast itself was ok with 4 options: omelette, scrambled eggs, fried eggs and fried rice, all seved with a small baguette (apart from the rice) and some fruit with free flowing tea, coffee and water.

We left the windows open to try and air the room but returning at 2pm the room still smelt awful and we went to reception to ask for some air freshener or if they could stop the people in the next room smoking. The gent on reception gave us the key to another room (206) and told us that we should have told them before midday. I presume they had expected it and that we were not the first to complain and so we moved down the corridor to a room at the back of the building. It was about the same standard - but we later discovered the a/c unit, directly above the bed, leaked water onto our heads and so used a towel to stop it splashing us.

Our problem was that the corridor continued to smell strongly of smoke and they obviously do not enforce the no smoking signs thought the guesthouse or in Laos in general.

The locatation was good - but as mentioned by other reviewers, there isn't all that much to do in vientaine so I wouldn't allocate more than 2/3 days there to be able to comfortably see everything.

P.S. on some tourist maps the fountain is the central point - its currently a building site and barely recognisable. Pick something else as your landmark point!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We hadn't booked anywhere in advance before arriving in Vientiane so had the pleasure of walking door to door with our big bags. We hit up a few of the ones mentioned in the Lonely Planet and after viewing the rooms were left unimpressed considering the money they were asking for. We then got to Mixok Inn and at first thought we couldn't afford it. We inquired and they said they had rooms in the sister building Mixok Guesthouse. We went and had a look and were really impressed. Big room, large comfortable bed, decent bathroom, AC and cable TV. We did the maths and realised it was only slightly more expensive than some of the fan-only, windowless dives that we had just seen in other guesthouses down the street, plus this had free wifi IN in the rooms and also free breakfast.

The location is good (even if there isn't really a 'good' location in Vientiane as I just don't think it's a very interesting city to visit). The staff were helpful whenever we asked questions. We booked onwards bus tickets from them at vastly inflated prices (but we asked around and everywhere sold them for the same price). The reason for the mark up is that the bus station is a ridiculous 9km away from the city centre so you'd have to spend a fortune in a Tuk Tuk to get there yourself and then you may be unfortunate enough to find that the bus is full. We were disappointed however, that after booking our tickets in advance to ensure a good sleeper berth, when we got to the bus station to exchange the receipt for the tickets we were given berths on the back row! Anyone who has taken a sleeper bus and 'slept' at the back will know just how awful that is!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mixok Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mixok Guesthouse

Address: 126 12 Setthathirath Road | City Centre, Vientiane, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mixok Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mixok Guesthouse Hotel Vientiane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mixok Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.