We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vientiane hotel review” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Win Hotel

Win Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Win Hotel to your Saves list
Win Hotel
Chao Anou Road | Ban Anou, Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 2000, Laos (Formerly Vanhuong Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 173 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Vientiane hotel review”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Arrived in late morning and was told had to wait for the room which took over an hour, which I wasn't happy about as they had been aware of my arrival for months. The 2 main reception managers were very nice, especially the owner's daughter. However, the room was not of the standard I would expect for $30/night. Bathroom was particularly disappointing with mosquitoes everywhere. Wetroom style but the water didn't drain away properly. Not a great experience overall and would not recommend. Good location though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
2
12
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Win Hotel is a small comfortable guesthouse-hotel, great location for first arrival or for a short visit to Vientiane, nice clean room with TV, english, Lao and Thai, hot water is working very well, Good breakfast, the nice and friendly staffs. I really like to commend if you like the small family hotel com guesthouse style.

Room Tip: They also speak Vietnamese
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

After arriving late afternoon, we were given a room which was not cleaned. Bathroom really dirty, no towels and the bed had been clearly slept in. The owner ( not a word english) sent over someone to clean. However just the bathroom was done. Finally there was some lady at the reception speaking english and she indicated that all would be fine within the next 10 minutes. We went out for dinner, but off course no clean sheets and no towels. The owner had another look and waved his arms at us as if we were some nagging tourist and that there was no problem. After some discussing we were given another room. Not super clean but at least some clean looking bed sheets. The next morning allthough we remained friendly, the owner and the manager (his none english speaking son) refused to say at least " goodmorning". We are not fuzzy about the state of hotel rooms but at least the rooms should be relatively clean in this type of midrange hotels. After a sleeperbus we wanted a bit more comfort so decided to spent a bit more money on a room......We have stayed in many more decent and customerfriendly budget accomodations.

The location within pakse however is fine. But i would most certainly not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Win Hotel is a really good budget hotel in Vientaine. It is located on Chou Anou which is near the Mekong River. A lot of Vientaine landmarks are very close. 
The room is compact but good. Has a mini fridge, tv, cupboard, ac, fan and desk. The tv is positioned on a wall pivot which makes viewing easy and also has a lot of channels - local, sports and news. The bath is small but convenient. The wifi is good - in the lobby and in the room. 
I came in at 8 am in the morning and was given a room immediately even though technically it was due only post noon. They give out a good map of the area. also there is a good balcony with views of busy Chou Anou. 
Overall a good option to consider for under $ 30 in Vientaine

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very nice value. Plenty hot wtaer, Plenty cold Air!. Great location. Rented bike from hotel ($3) Staff was SO helpful...gave me map and complete directions to everything. Exchanged money, did laundry, arranged transport and even got me Viet nam Visa in one day!! Room was fine. Very good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Spent one night here after visiting Luang Prabang for our connecting fight the next morning. We had to book two rooms as travelling with kids. Were given rooms at the front of the hotel. The rooms were on the third floor, no elevator and you must walk your cases up three flights of stairs!
The room with the double bed was tiny, there is a dated wardrobe and desk, mini fridge and double bed. The tv is mounted up on the wall. The bathroom was extremely small, old and dated. The tap fittings were loose and grouting in bathroom cracked, old and missing. I ended up showering in the twin room that our children were staying in as their bathroom was slightly bigger so you weren't showering right next to the toilet as in our room. The door to the general verandah at the front of the hotel, had a glass panel missing and the door would not close. The worst thing though is the traffic noise. It felt like there was no glass at all in the windows it was that loud and all night long, constant traffic movement and honking. Breakfast was okay, buffet style and served from 7am. Relieved to catch a tuk tuk which was easy to organize outside the hotel back to the airport. Staff happy, smiley and friendly. I guess my only suggestion is that maybe the rooms towards the back of the hotel may be quieter but I won't be back to find out.

Room Tip: Do not stay at the front of hotel as traffic noise is horrid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Only stayed in this hotel for 2 nights but has perfect location to the river, markets and restaurants. The staff are friendly and helpful and the wifi is decent. The rooms are clean, big and have comfy beds! The bathroom was a bit dated but served the purpose. Don't book tours or buses with them as it is completely overpriced! The breakfast isn't great but its edible if your starving x

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Win Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Win Hotel

Address: Chao Anou Road | Ban Anou, Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 2000, Laos (Formerly Vanhuong Hotel)
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Win Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Win Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.