We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salana Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salana Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Salana Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Salana Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Chao Anou Road, 112 | Ban Wat Chan, Chanthabouly District, Vientiane, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct get special
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Vientiane
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Salana Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I found the Salana Hotel to be a lovely place to stay in Vientiane. Great location. The staff is very well trained and friendly. They made my stay comfortable and hassle-free! I would like to particularly mention's Chintana's great service at the front desk. Extremely helpful, indeed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    153
    39
    6
    1
See reviews for
44
178
64
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We booked 4 rooms on second floor. It is the best location for walking distance. Next to Large temple. I feel strange but help us to see the monk walk to get food from people in the morning at 5am. Cozy place and warm service. Love it. Thank you tripadvisor for helping us to pick the right hotel by reading the comment and star.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at the Salana for four nights to coincide with my birthday. All of the staff, and especially Ms chintana at reception, were so lovely and helpful to my boyfriend in making my birthday special. The staff at Salana take great pride in their jobs which comes across in all that they do.
We enjoyed all aspects of the hotel; the food, the spa, room service and the suite room we had was very comfortable and well equipped. The hotel is also superbly located and everything is within a short walking distance.

Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We recently enjoyed 2 nights at Salana Boutique Hotel and would not hesitate to return. It is located within walking distance to most of the cities attractions and is in the very heart if the restaurant scene. Our room while not being big was of adequate size and was very well appointed. We were on one of the higher floors overlooking one of the temples and the hotel was on the path where the Monks went through there morning alms ritual. We ate in the restaurant and thought that the food was good and reasonably priced, although we did experience a couple of minor problems with delivery of the meals. The breakfast had a good range of both western and local dishes, and we enjoyed some of the local food rather than eating bacon and eggs etc for breakfast? Wifi was complimentary and not to bad given where we were. The hotel also runs a free shuttle back to the airport at three set times during the day if you are able to take advantage of it. The hotel does have a spa but booking would be advisable as when we went they could not accommodate us. The hotel was very clean and well maintained and we thought that it was very good value for money.
All in all a very enjoyable stay, well priced and very well located.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor if possible. There is a bit of noise during the night but you are in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Decided to splurge a little with one night at this hotel on our last night in Laos and we were not disappointed. Short walk to the night markets and local restaurants - brilliant location.
Paid for the hotel car to the airport, no hassles at all.
We stayed in June and had pre booked, may have been able to save some money by shopping around for rooms, but this is well worth it!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel rooms and facilities were excellent and staff very friendly and couldnt fault them.
Food in restaurant was very nice and only let down was slow service but given this is quiet time of wet season that is partially understandable.
If travelling to Laos dont worry about getting local currency (kip) as $US dollars in small denominations accepted everywhere
If you are up at 5am you can see the monks walk past the front of the hotel taking morning offerings
Hotel is also a very short walk to the foreshore area where they have night markets starting 5pm each night and also locals have exercise classes on the banks of the river too. Sit there for a while and enjoy the sunset over the Mekong River.
Highly recomend this hotel for your stay in Laos.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have stayed with several hotels in Laos and this hotel tops in terms of quality of the facilities and the service provided. The welcome is excellent and staff very friendly. Rooms are quite big and excellent double bed.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms away from the main road and on top most floors to avoid being disturbed by Tuku tuk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salana Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salana Boutique Hotel

Address: Chao Anou Road, 112 | Ban Wat Chan, Chanthabouly District, Vientiane, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salana Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the most central located hotel in Vientiane, the SALANA Boutique Hotel home is a wonderful authentic hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. The hotel offers world class accommodation in the heart of the city, sure to impress even the most discerning traveler with its 12 superior, 24 deluxe, 2 suites, 3 Salana suites. Our central location together with various facilities will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Salana Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salana Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.