We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location and ........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salana Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Salana Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Salana Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Chao Anou Road, 112 | Ban Wat Chan, Chanthabouly District, Vientiane, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct get special
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Vientiane
Mercer Island, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding location and ........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Outstanding location for walking to most of the attractions in the capital of Vientiane Laos. Very children friendly environment [they especially loved the computers in the restaurant adjacent the lobby]. Very professional, friendly and helpful staff. At $120 room cost a little pricy for Laos but a sure bet for a quality stay.

Room Tip: I loved the street location overlooking the Monk's quarters accross the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    157
    40
    6
    1
See reviews for
46
182
66
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A nice hotel that is well located. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Would be my first choice if I returned to Vientiane. A great little café called Common Grounds is just up the road that does fantastic fresh juices and nice food

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel, well situated near the night market. The food was good, except for the coffee at breakfast which was poor. The room was very nice, spotlessly clean and well appointed. Staff were helpful.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A perfect boutique hotel just a short walk from the Mekong River in the heart of Vientiane for a fraction of the price (booked through Agoda) you would pay in Europe or North America. Intimate welcome check-in on two desks with MAC Laptops !! extremely nice and helpful English speaking staff, welcome drink, free of charge iPad rental and access to 27'' iMac's if you do not bring your own laptop.

The suite rooms are spotless clean with polished hardwood floors, large windows and beautiful views of Vientiane or a Pagoda, a oversize bed 240x210, large bright slate tiled bathroom with lots of toilet articles (even a toothbrush) a walk in rain shower, a top of the line jacuzzi, a well stocked mini bar, excellent and quick room service, turn-down service, comfortable sofa, AC, a TV with 70+ international channels etc..etc.. Many great restaurant are in walking distance.

We stayed for two nights in the larger suites (602) with a big L-shaped balcony, a wall of windows and incredible views across the town, little kitchen area with breakfast bar and all amenities mentioned before.

We love the Salana - highly recommended !!

Room Tip: Try the suite 602 or a suite room 604
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here a few days while in Vientiane. The staff were mostly friendly and the rooms very confortable. It is convieniatly located near many shops and restaurants. Breakfast buffet was good with a wide range of food to choose from.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

In a central Vientiane location, Salana is an almost luxurious oasis steps away from wherever most want to go.

The staff are among the best I have experienced at any ranking of hotel, in any country.

The standard rooms are, quite surprising, of standard size. Rooms are well-appointed with a fully stocked mini-bar and a modern, electronic safe.

Best feature? A working high-speed internet connection!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed here for two nights when passing through Vientiane. I had heard mixed things about the city, but as it turned out I found it to be a great place to visit. In part this was due to my visit coinciding with the That Luang festival (fantastic!), but my experience of the Salana Boutique Hotel certainly helped too.

We got a taxi from the airport to the hotel (15 mins at most), which the driver was able to find with ease. The reception staff were friendly and the rooms comfortable, modern and clean. My room was at the back of the hotel and therefore very quiet, but the road outside the hotel is not remotely busy so I can't imagine it matters where your room is. Breakfast is fine with a decent selection in the light and airy dining room. There are also a couple of free PC terminals with internet on the way into the dining room, which is useful for luddites to me who travel without laptops and smart-phones so can't take advantage of wi-fi.

The hotel is just a couple of minutes walk from the Mekong, which is an impressively wide sight in Vientiane and alongside which runs pleasant promenade. It's also easy to walk into the city centre to most of the main sights from the hotel too, but they will also arrange a comfortable lift in a hotel vehicle should you wish them too. Worth it if heading to Pha That Luang which is a bit further away than most of the sights. We also got a transfer to the airport after our all too short stay.

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salana Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salana Boutique Hotel

Address: Chao Anou Road, 112 | Ban Wat Chan, Chanthabouly District, Vientiane, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salana Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the most central located hotel in Vientiane, the SALANA Boutique Hotel home is a wonderful authentic hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. The hotel offers world class accommodation in the heart of the city, sure to impress even the most discerning traveler with its 12 superior, 24 deluxe, 2 suites, 3 Salana suites. Our central location together with various facilities will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Salana Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salana Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.