We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally good but expected more for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mixay Paradise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mixay Paradise
Save
You added Mixay Paradise to your Saves list
Th Francois Ngin, Vientiane, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 178 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Generally good but expected more for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Overview: we stayed here for 2 nights last week and paid about $19 for a private double with a/c and ensuite, but no breakfast.

Pros:
- Great location on rue François Ngin, 10mins from the fountain and 5 from a street packed full of eateries and shops.
- Friendly, professional staff who speak good English.
-Decent bed.

Cons:
-Very small room.
-Some strange rules, including no food or drinks in the rooms.
- Quiet noisy at night with lots of banging and loud guests, and very thin walls.
-Relatively expensive compared to other places of a similar standard nearby.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    123
    40
    15
    18
See reviews for
10
109
69
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

There are definitely cheaper places to stay in Vientiane, but not better places. This guesthouse has a great location in the Mixay neighborhood. Just a couple minutes walk to the Mekong park, the street also features tons of restaurants so eating options are great. The guesthouse itself features very nice rooms, which are reasonably large and very clean. There are balconies to people watch down on the street, and there's a small lounge on the top floor where you can sit and relax and just barely catch a view of the Mekong (by looking between other buildings). The staff are super friendly and extremely helpful in answering questions about Vientiane and about Laotian culture. They also provide motorbike parking right out front!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I came to Vientiane without any proper plan. I did not book any guesthouse or hostel. I stayed here after my 2 Japanese new found friends told me that they were staying here.

Overall, it was a very nice experience staying here. The location is superb, it is at the city centre. You can walk or rent a bicycle to tour this small city. It is also near the riverside, which offers nice view of Nong Khai, Thailand and good night hangout places as well as the night market.

As for the guesthouse, you can choose either to pay with Kip, Baht or USD. I chose a single fan room without breakfast for THB 300 with a shared bathroom, with is so cheap and good that I decided to extend my stay for another night.

The room might be quite dark as it is facing a common pathway but they have lift and the smoking area is the best place to meet other travellers. Apart from that, they offer free welcome drinks for the guest everyday and they also offer free slice of cake once in a while.

The staff are very friendly and the place is spotless. They clean up the bathroom everyday, that although it is shared bathroom, it is still clean.

I will definitely stay here again if I go to Vientiane.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road will be brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This place was recommended to me by a Lao friend, and what a good recommendation it was! The place is centrally located (near the Mekong River, restaurants, and ATMs) and is not too far from the airport.

Check-in is easy. The price is also reasonable for me because I remember paying for a twin fan room in Hua Hin, Thailand for around 550 baht that remained dirty throughout my stay there, whereas in Vientiane, I got an airconditioned room with a private toilet and shower that's cleaned everyday for just around 480 baht (Establishments in Laos accept Thai baht). The room I had faces the temple outside so it's a great view to look at every morning.

Staff speak good English and are courteous. Breakfast is okay and filling. Free coffee and juice all day. The signs said wifi is only available until 23:30, but I was able to use wifi all day and all night. I didn't mind the "don't do this, don't do that" and "sex workers not allowed" signs all around the place because it made me feel safe as a traveler. It made me feel that I'm staying in a decent place, so for me the signs were a good thing. As for the 23:30 curfew, based from experience, if you talk nicely to the staff that you might come in late (for good reason - we attended a friend's wedding), they will be kind enough to wait up for you.

Room Tip: For a great view every morning, choose the room facing the temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Free drinks til' 5pm, watch the staff learn to dance between 3-4pm and get free snacks. Well located, close to the Mekong river park and varied restaurants on the street. Rooms are nice and clean. However, some have a outside view of a neighboring wall but the better ones overlook the local temple grounds.

Room Tip: If you care about a view visit the room and look out the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Not a "starred" hotel by any stretch, but if you want a centrally located, reasonably priced hotel with decent rooms and a good breakfast for 15 bucks... well, you've found paradise. I've stayed here for several nights and was not disappointed. Some rooms have lights outside their windows, so be aware if that makes it difficult for you to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakse, Laos
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed in Mixay Paradise many times and know the place very well. The staff is friendly and helpfull and most of them (at the reception) speak English on a high level. The management is proffesional (although in a big place you have some communincation problems sometimes) and the place is well run and clean. The rooms aren't cheap compared to other places in Laos (except for Luang Prabang) but are cheap compared to other accomodation in Vientiane.

Simple but clean rooms and if you want, they clean every day. Sometimes a bit noisy because of people who don't care about others and are smashing doors etc.

Absolutely a good option for staying in Vientiane on a very good location.

Room Tip: Not to close to the street and in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mixay Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mixay Paradise

Address: Th Francois Ngin, Vientiane, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Mixay Paradise Hotel Vientiane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mixay Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.