We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel in great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ansara Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ansara Hotel to your Saves list
Ansara Hotel
Quai Fa Ngum, Ban Vat Chan, Hom 5 | Muang Chanthabury, Vientiane, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Vientiane
Broadstairs UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel in great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Situated in a relatively quiet side-road near the river in central Vientiane, the Ansara is small, friendly and delighful. A young and enthusiastic staff made every effort to provide everything needed with big smiles and great charm. Cool, comfortable room. Free Wi-FI throughout the hotel a big advantage. A really nice place to stay in a great town. Highly recommended.

Martin - England

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    92
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
134
18
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampden, MA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Amazing rooms, great shower, great breakfast, free internet and each room has a laptop. Minbar also free. Only negative is that they allow smoking in the beautiful patio where breakfast is served. Since all rooms are smoke free, I was surprised they allowed people to smoke at breakfast. Having to breath smoke interfered with what is a great breakfast. Cleanliness given a 4 because second hand smoke is filthy. Otherwise the Ansara is immaculate.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

I was slightly disappointed by the look of the outside of the hotel when I arrived. In the photos it looks so picturesque and I had imagined a charming old colonial street. Sadly it was all a bit too modern and new for that and my room was in a modern looking wing. The room would have been slightly cramped (about 2 1/2 feet around the hard bed) had two people been in it but for me alone it was fine. There was a small armchair, a desk and a flat screen TV with BBC World and CNN as well as some film channels. Outside there was a private terrace with two chairs. In the room the hotel provided a laptop (which you could watch DVDs on) and a free minibar with soft drinks and peanuts which was very nice (if only other hotels did that!). There was a small safe and free wifi and a nice sized bathroom with good marble sink surround, shaving mirror and good lighting. So all in all, I had everything I wanted. Breakfast was good with pastries, cereals and freshly cooked eggs. You could also order capuccinos or lattes which was a nice touch. The only downside was the restaurant, I tried it twice; the first time I had a good steak but with very uncooked french fries and the second time a very tasty but tiny fish cake. It was much more espensive than other local restaurants. The staff were extremely helpful (especially the senior management) & provided good assistance for sightseeing and transport. It's about a 20 min walk to the Presidential palace + famous wats. And it's about 2 mins to the riverside (not that there's much to see there!).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKG
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

We stayed here for two nights while exploring Vientiane and found the Ansara's service and decor delightful. Great breakfast and ideal location on one of the most charming streets in Vientiane. The hotel restaurant was great, too!!! And, plenty of good spots, such as Mak Phet. Just around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulham
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Earlier reviewers have said it all. Perfect service. Nice room. Free WiFi and laptop. Good location. And the rest.

We'd been booked in by our UK agent and they'd told us that we were obliged to pay for a Christmas Eve gala dinner. Realising that it would be quite late on the 24th when we arrived we emailed the Ansara and suggested that they gave us a snack on arrival and kept the gala meal for another night. On arrival we had a light two course meal and that suited us fine. We then realised that the restaurant, though good, did not serve local cuisine.

We told the manager that we'd prefer to forfeit our special meal and eat dinner elsewhere for our remaining two nights. The manager kept asking when we wanted to eat with them - but we said we'd still prefer to forget about the extra we'd paid and go out.

Imagine our surprise when, on our travels up to Luang Prabang, our guide got a call from the hotel saying that they insisted on refunding our gala dinner money and that they'd get it to us via the LP guide's office.

And that they did!

I understand the hotel has only been open for less than a year. If this is the way they continue it will not be long before they build a worldwide reputation - and deserve every bit of it.

T&C

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanjing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

A complementary personal laptopis something I have never seen in a hotel. But it is not the only great thing. The mini bar is reasonably priced and a resident bar offers great drinks in the evening. The Ansara Hotel is one of the best choices in Laos

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambodia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We stayed in the Ansara Hotel for four nights in November 2010 and were really impressed. The first thing of note is the service - before we even arrived in Vientiane the service was excellent - it was the ultra busy festival week and they could only give us four out of our five requested nights - they told us exactly what they could offer us and then delivered. This is a French-managed boutique hotel in a colonial style setting with beautiful decor throughout. It was recommended to us by a friend whose friends live in Vientiane. Our room was spacious enough, excellent facilities including a flat-screen TV, connected lap-top, wi-fi, tea / coffee and snacks - all complimentary. Breakfast was included - served outdoors next to the garden - and was very good and freshly cooked and served. There is a small resident's bar that serves good cocktails as well as the usual wines, spirits and beer - all at reasonable prices. But the restaurant deserves special mention - we had an excellent dinner there one of our nights - outstanding food and service - not cheap but good value nonetheless - certainly the best restaurant in Vientiane. The service also deserves special mention. The French managers are simply superb - friendly, welcoming and attentive at all times to our needs without being at all intrusive. They organised our golf trips and transport and our airport travel, giving us good advice all the way - and we were never over-charged (e.g. $10 for the hotel - airport trip). The staff are lovely - friendly and smiling - a little limited in English but they are receiving training and try ever so hard on customer service. In summary this is an excellent mid-range priced hotel, excellent central location on a quiet side road near the river and close to many bars and restaurants. We will certainly stay here again on our next trip to Vientiane.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ansara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansara Hotel

Address: Quai Fa Ngum, Ban Vat Chan, Hom 5 | Muang Chanthabury, Vientiane, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel, opened in mid May 2010. 12 "Savvy" rooms, 1 "Suite Affair" of 46 sqm and 1 "Suitest Escape" of 64 sqm. All fares include in room laptop and free WIFI, soft drinks in mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Ansara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ansara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.