We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only the location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Saysouly Guest House

Saysouly Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Saysouly Guest House to your Saves list
Saysouly Guest House
Vientiane, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 173 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Only the location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Staff do not speak good English.
The sheets were full of stains and holes.
Full of mosquitoes, the refrigerator in the room stank of mold.

We stayed there for two nights and that was enough for us.

The only thing it is good at its central position.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    16
    14
    19
See reviews for
1
17
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Checked in and took a nap straightaway, woke up with at least 10 really bad bites and realized there were bed bugs (though we checked the sheets and mattress beforehand, they're good at hiding). Told the guy at the front desk and he moved us into a room across the hall. Not the most pleasant start to a holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Saysouly hotel is very centrally situated, minutes walk from the river and Namphu fountain. That's the only good thing about it.
The rooms have that all too familiar appearance of decay and neglect that is found at almost all budget accommodations in Vientiane. I paid for an ensuite room but was put in a room with no bathroom on first arriving as the owner had overbooked but he did move me the following day to an ensuite room.
All the usual tell tale signs of neglect are there. No domestic household cleaners are used to clean the rooms. The dirt just piles up, nothing is ever repaired when broken. Like many budget hotels and guesthouses it is slovenly. I had to ask to have the room cleaned which was done with a lot of reluctance. All it amounted to was a shake of the duvet and they emptied a waste bin, took all of two minutes. The shower was scary, there were loose wires externally exposed, not really a safe setup where there is flowing water.
They do do rooms for about $7 a night though which is reasonable value if you're short of money. I was paying about $17 a night which represented poor value for what I got. No complimentary water, no toilet role and only one towel.
Wouldn't stay there again but it's a conundrum to find a decent place in central Vientiane for around $20. In this price range all the accommodation is consistently bad. The hotel is situated down a quiet street that leads down to the river which is a plus as it is away from the traffic.
The Internet is poor, it doesn't work in the rooms and is intermittent in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

So, firstly about upside. It's good location of this guesthouse - just 200 m to Fountaine pavilion and approximately 400 - to Wat Sisaket and Wat Ho Pra Kheo. But really it was very dirty uncomfortable rooms without any signs of cleaning before you've stayed there. And unfriendly staff. And no wifi - for me this cons was one of the most serious. I'm sure, when the information about hotel didn't correlate with actual situation - it's unfair and cheatiang of guests!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Group of 14 of us stayed here. Good location, near restaurants & small supermarket near by. Room was basic but had a fan, room was dusty, towels were old & holey. Shared washroom with a dribbling shower & no hot water. No bed bugs in room 12. Nice balcony decking to chill on & good wifi provided. Mixay guesthouse on next street seems to be most popular & in the same price range with better facilities it was full when we arrived early in the morning. Guesthouse was quiet & in quiet area but you can hear people in their rooms so ear plugs are an advantage & also helps to block out the cockerel about 6.30am.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had looked at a few other guesthouses before deciding on Saysouly. We paid 80,000 for a generously sized double room with private bathroom which had a couple of big windows facing the street, air conditioning (noisy but worked fine), with great wifi on every floor. There was also a balcony area with deck chairs to see the sunset which was a nice touch.

For the price, in this area, so close to good restaurants and things to see (Vientiane isn't that big), I think it is a bargain. We did notice blood marks on the bedding which rang alarm bells but I checked, and there were no bed bugs, at least not in room 16! Otherwise, room was clean, there was some construction noise during the day time, but this wasn't a problem as we were out most of the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Check in: tired and ready to just eat and sleep

Return from dinner: manager is drunk and shirtless in the lobby. His lady friend is sitting on the couch. I sit down to use the wifi and be begins to ell at her making her cry. Things escalate to where he is pushing her to the floor and kicking her (not enough to do any serious damage but still!)

15 min later: check tripadvisor reviews and see bed bug alerts. Check the bed. YUP. BUGS IN THE CRACKS OF THE UPHOLSTERED HEADBOARD. Noped right on out of there. Manager followed us outside and down the street.

TERRIBLE! Why does our guidebook (current edition!) recommend this place?! There are SO many other guesthouses on the same block even with the same price range. Do not go to this one.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saysouly Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saysouly Guest House

Address: Vientiane, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Saysouly Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saysouly Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.