We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 day Kayak Tour was excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Discovery Day Tours

Green Discovery Day Tours
Hang Boun Road, Vientiane 01, Laos
+856 21 264 528
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 22 activities in Vientiane
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Motorcycle Trails
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: With now fourteen years of experience, Green Discovery Laos is the most well-known and highly regarded adventure and Eco-tourism tour operator and probably the only social enterprise in the country. Be it adventure or immersion into scenic tranquillity, Green Discovery has ensured that all its excursions and holidays are suited to the most discerning and unique of travellers. Safety remains a priority in whatever activity is involved, and we are proud of our safety record with more than 150.000 travelers using our services since 2000.
Van Anda
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“3 day Kayak Tour was excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We took a 3 day kayak trip with Green Discovery on the River Ou from Nong Kiau to Luang Prabang. Overnights were in riverside villages in a home-stay. The first village was remote as only accessible by river. Talk about eating "real" Laos cuisine! Our guide was attentive, spoke English well, and prepared 3 course riverside lunches. This was indeed the highlight of our visit to Laos.
The kayaks and equipment were old. We are experienced paddlers and we still managed to tip twice. There are several rapids, none dangerous. The river is a busy river with many sections with operating gold panning and dredging by hand or by a small motor. Fishing and fishing nets is common. Water buffalo, small fenced river side gardens, villages, fast long tail open boats, passenger boats, kids swimming and woman washing clothes were passed.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    6
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Well Organized Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We did a lot of research before we went to Laos and knew exactly what we wanted to do. We contacted three companies in Laos and Green Discovery was the only agency that would accomodate our needs. The other two wanted to take us where they thought we should go. We rented a vehicle and driver for ten days. Our accommodation was a combination of what they recommended and what we had researched. Everything was organized when we got there. Our driver spoke no English and we didn't speak any Laos but that didn't matter. Anytime we got really stuck in translation the driver would phone his office and there would be a translator to sort out communication issues. They were just great to deal with and we would highly recommend them. Lathsamee, from the Vientaine office was the man we dealt with and he spoke and wrote good English.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good tour company”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

They offer a lot of different tours...mostly 2-3 day tours - hiking, rafting, adventure. Great locations. All details arranged. Only complaint was that we missed a tour and did not get even a partial refund.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port macquarie
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“secret eden vang vieng”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

its a hike not for the unfit or weary but well worth it. You have seen the mountain range you go over and back in the day. The valley behind seems completely enclosed by mountains and to get their buffalo out they use the same track and leave the evidence. The rainfall from the hiden valley appears to leave via the undergound limestone caves which have pools waterfalls and lovely paces to swim in the dry I imagine unacessable in the wet dito for the steep track. My two fit kids were exhausted, their aging father gave them his water to carry and had to get the guide John who spoke good english to slow the pace which he was happy. Sadly the mon village over the top was abandoned several years ago but you can imagine their self sufficient lifestyle from the gardens. Suprisingly there are few spots to have a panaramic view as most of the track is well vegitated. We made the trip with an hour to spare so I guess we set a fast pace which may have been better spent on the other side. So close to the bars of vang vieng but so few people will amke it to the other side. Reminscent of the novel The Beach. The falang lunch of kebabs and the usual white bread rolls was fine but our guide also offered a selection of real Lao food as well.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good tours, Laotian style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This tour company has an excellent selection of tours and clearly are very experienced in running them. we took the one day phou kao kay challenge tour. Our guide spoke good english and the equipment was appropriate for the challenge- safety helmets, briefings etc. it involved a challenging bike ride, jungle trekking and kayakking. the natural scenery is amazing, especially the waterfall where our guides made a homemade bbq. however, it was very typical of everything in laos in that people were so laid back- our tuk tuk (yes, 4 hours on a bench in the open air) arrived an hour late, and several other small hiccups. but when in laos you have to accept that these things happen and not let it bother you. four of us went and overall we really enjoyed it, including seeing the village lifestyle at the national park.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Discovery Day Tours also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Green Discovery Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Discovery Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Green Discovery Day Tours to your Saves list