We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing homemade pasta and beautiful wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aria Italian Culinary Arts

Aria Italian Culinary Arts
8 Rue Francois Nginn | Ban Mixai, Vientiane 00000, Laos
+856 20221559
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 250 Restaurants in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $105
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Italian Restaurant, imported Italian products, true STG neapolitan pizza, pasta, risotti, meat and fish. Italian Management, only at Aria Restaurant!! Come and try our new exclusive menu featured by our Italian Chef.
Brighton, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing homemade pasta and beautiful wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

You have to eat the homemade pasta here - it is amazing! The wine list is great and the staff are very nice and the service very good.
The pizzas are also very good but the pasta is something special especially the
bucatini with smoked pork cheek, onions and salted goat ricotta, parsley and rosemary. The best meal i had in Laos!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    82
    26
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
“Excellent and authentic Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Went there by a recommendation of some US guys working in Vientiane and honestly I was a bit skeptical as a German which had been to Italy countless times (No offense ;)). As I had lunch there there was an all you can eat buffet with fresh salads, pizza and lasagna and a additional menu to order different types of pasta and sauces. Bottom line if got to say that the food was unexpected good and authentic and very close if not the same as real Italian food. (Still wondering how he had managed to get this taste knowing the difficulties of getting the right ingredients here.) Chef and owner is an Italian and I really appreciated the experience. Price at lunch was worth it but the dinner menu seemed to be a lot more pricey.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lime Sorbet was to divine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is an italian restaurant in South East Asia, the food was great, a different but I suspect due to the availability of some of the ingredients.

The chef & the maitre'd were fantastically helpful and constantly ensuring service was upheld. If anything was wrong, it was fixed. The chef even took our dessert order as he was wandering past and we were looking for a waiter - that's looking after your customer.

The lime sorbet, well I would go back just for that.

Plus free Wifi - is great in this online age to be able to upload photos!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor Quality food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

After reading the review in the Lonely Planet we had decided that Aria would finally give us something else than rice after weeks of travelling. Altough the restaurant from the outside looks pretty oke from the inside it is nothing unique and even too much light.

We choose the basics with Caprese and Pizza Margeritha. Even though this is the most basic Italian dish we were not impressed at all. The Caprese was oke but the Pizza was just terrible. The ingredients were good with great Mozzerela but the Pizza was not crispy at all in fact it was taken out of the oven way to early. The Cheese we choose as a dessert were not what we believe Italy has to offer (very very salt and not nice of taste).

Wines were oke and the service offered was good.

All in all a dissapointment and way to expensive for Lao standard.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Good Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

After a few weeks travelling through SE Asia, the Aria made a nice change food wise. We had a couple of decent pizzas and some well kept wine.

All in all a decent little spot for a bite to eat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aria Italian Culinary Arts also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Aria Italian Culinary Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aria Italian Culinary Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.