We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Adresse de Tinay

L'Adresse de Tinay
L'adresse Cuisine by Tinay | Wat Ongteu, Vientiane, Laos
+856 20 56 913 434
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 250 Restaurants in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: French, Winery, Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Good Wines selection. Amazing french food. Sincere owners-operators.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We chose this restaurant because it was near to our hotel and looked interesting. How pleased we were to be given a table on a Saturday night without booking and to thoroughly enjoy the food and experience of eating here. The restaurant was very busy but we were shown to the mezzanine where the excellent hostess and staff gave us their absolute attention. We were served warm bread before the meal and care was given to make sure we were happy with our wine choice. The food was absolutely delicious and we felt love and attention to detail had been given to each and every plate. Thank you for a great meal in Vientiane.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    63
    28
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“A little bit of France in Vientiane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was on a mission to have French food while visiting Laos. I finally found it at L'Adresse de Tinay. This meal was definitely our splurge while in Laos. We spent $48 before tip for 2 people. However this only included one starter pumpkin soup (delicious!!), one glass of house wine and two entrees. So in the scheme of things, this is an expensive restaurant and more $ than what tripadvisor suggests. The dining room was lovely with super comfie chairs. The service was excellent. The servers never let our water carafe or bread basket empty. Salmon entree very tasty. Beef Tenderloin also yummy with green peppercorn sauce, but meat could have been more tender. The restaurant was full with local business people and some tourists. Clearly this shows the place has a good reputation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Business lunch or romantic dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great place for both lunch with colleagues with an affordable menu of the day and to enjoy a diner with your beloved. I regularly do both.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant French dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Very good service and a varied menu made this a very enjoyable evening out for two. The standard menu is accompanied by a specials/recommended exta menu which adds up to plenty of selection. The ambience of the iside is part restaurant part cafe, quite open and a mezzanine level upstairs. There is outside sitting too to take in the quaintness of the street life, so plenty of options there.
The staff are all very well trained and get the attentiveness factor just right, which meant we were always topped up, never waiting long for food or drink, used plates etc cleared, but not feeling constantly interrupted by it all. Kudos to the owners and their lovely waiting staff.
I felt like L'addresse de Tinay sets out to give me a high quality French food experience and it does, and part of what really helps it shine is the staff.
Merci beaucoup!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good wine and sweet service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Even though we usually eat the local style food, we ate here once and then couldn't stay away. For the best French food in Vienteanne, L'Adresse de Tinay is the right address. Very nice proprietors and staff also.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Adresse de Tinay also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to L'Adresse de Tinay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Adresse de Tinay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.