We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-So Pizza, somewhat off-putting dining experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Via Via Restaurant and Bar

Via Via Restaurant and Bar
Nokeokhoumane Str.Ban Mixay, Vientiane, Laos
+856 21 252 068
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 229 Restaurants in Vientiane
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza & Pasta, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Vientiane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So-So Pizza, somewhat off-putting dining experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I went to this place hoping for some good pizza and salads, and it was an overall ok experience.

The salad was pretty good. We ordered the Bacon Salad, substitute feta for bacon. The feta was the best party of that dish. The apple, cucumbers, and lettuce were all good and fresh.

We ordered the Via Via Pizza and itt was pretty average. A little bit undercooked, and seriously bland. We used the feta from the salad to liven it up a little, but it didn't do much good. This was definitely NOT the pizza from the previous Trip Advisor reviews.

The highlight of our meal was the half liter of wine for 65,000 Kip, and our server was very nice. He was very accommodating when we wanted to substitute the meat out of our dishes.

We'd read a complaint in another review about how the proprietors of this restaurant sat in the dining room counting money, and the reviewer found this very off-putting . We thought this person was being a little too nit-picky, but after our meal we totally agree! The owners were all sitting around a table in the dining room drinking and counting money. It added kind of a creepy feeling to the place. We wouldn't go back there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViaViaManager, Propriétaire at Via Via Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your feedback.

Regarding our pizzas, we would like to highlight the fact that our pizzas are “Italian-roman-style” pizzas, which means they are the same kind of pizzas that you could find in Roma, Italy. The dough is thin and crispy. The tomato basis is made of imported tomatoes from Italy, and so is the mozzarella. This ensures high quality standards to our pizzas, with a very low proportion of salt added (only in the dough) and no sugar (as opposed to other pizza makers who can put sugar in the tomato sauce…). For customers who need it spicier, we also make home-made spicy olive oil; we provide Tabasco and all sort of other Ketchup or chilli sauce to strengthen the taste.
If you think the pizza is undercooked, please let us know, so that we can put it again in the oven a couple of seconds.

Besides, the person in charge of the cash at ViaVia can be either one of the staff, the manager or the owner. For safety reasons, we ask them to keep the money with them. It is also faster to give back the money to the customers during rush-times. I am very sorry to see that you had the feeling we were counting the money in front of you. This is never the case. We are just counting the money to give back to the customers, and in Laos, the banknotes can rapidly take a lot of space... We are sorry if you felt offended by this operation.

Finally, as a manager or owner of the place, it can happen that we sit on a table with a loyal customer to have a talk. This is also part of our job.

I assume you live in Vientiane, so please come and visit us again!

Hope yo see you soon,

Yours sincerely

Via Via Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    75
    21
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mwanza Region, Tanzania
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Going downhill fast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I have been eating here regularly for about 2 years and the place has dropped its standards in the last month. This appears to correlate with a change of management. Service was among the worst we've had in Vientiane - slow, surly and begrudging.
I hope it recovers, but as long as people keep on following the lonely planet tip and bringing in the money , I fear not.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViaViaManager, Propriétaire at Via Via Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear customer,

We are really sorry to read your experience on TripAdvisor and we do apologize for this.
However we are surprised to see that you did not ask to speak with the manager or the owner. There is always at least one manager or owner all day long in ViaVia. We encourage all our customers to ask to see the manager when a problem is occurring. We do our best to give the most enjoyable food experience to our guest, This is our top priority. But we also know that sometimes problems may occur. In that context, we would have loved to speak with you to understand what was wrong with your order. It is also important for us to identify any problems with the staff to make the most appropriate decisions.

Regarding the change of owner from May 2013, I would like to highlight the following points. First, we kept the same staff at ViaVia, which is for us the best way to keep the same service standards than before. Secondly, we are happy to benefit from a very important number of loyal customers, who like you, live in Vientiane and come to Via Via to enjoy mainly Pizzas and Pastas. We take with high attention their comments, and so far, I had no previous complains from these customers. Finally, we kept all the same recipes and food suppliers to ensure the same high quality standards.

Despite all those efforts, we know that problems may occur. And since we do not like our customers to be unsatisfied, we are very happy to invite you and your whole family to ViaVia at your earliest convenience (food and beverage completely offered). Please call us to make the reservation.

We really hope to see you soon in Via Via and again we do apologize for the bad experience you refer to.

Yours sincerely,

Via Via Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Poor Quality Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Having read the reviews we thought this would be a good place for some pizza & pasta. We chose one pizza and one pasta dish -both were poor. The pasta was boiled then stir fried with the veg leaving some crispy pieces and the pizza dough had a sour taste. Having spoken go the manager he was interested but suggested the food was not their priority. For comparable dishes please go to Aria as the quality is so much better.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a very casual restaurant aiming for the backpacker market. I was really disappointed. My pizza base had a funny taste which overtook the rest of the taste of the pizza, it was quite strong. My partner's pasta was seriously average. I would not return and I would not recommend. We did speak to the French owner who took our concerns on board.
Given that it is so similar in price to far superior restaurants such as the nearby Aria, I would pay the little extra and go there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best pizza in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Chanced upon this restaurant after a night stroll in the Mekong River park. Place was packed and we're lucky to find a table. Food smelled good from afar, and smelled and tasted even better whe they arrived. Food was affordable too. Had the best time there. A must visit place in the city.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Via Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Via Via Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Via Via Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.