We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and nice clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Avalon Hotel to your Saves list
Avalon Hotel
070 Rue Phnom Pen Unit 8 | Ban Anou Chanthaburi District, Vientiane, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 81 Hotels in Vientiane
Wellington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good location and nice clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Avalon Hotel in Vientiane, We were able to easily walk into the centre of town to all the good restaurants and cafes. I thought that the hotel made a nice effort with the decor and furnishings. Good showers and finally one with a separate shower cubicle so the rest of the bathroom does not get soaking wet. The only complaint is that there are not enough tables outside for breakfast and the inside tables are very uncomfortable to sit in, the tables and chairs are very low and not really for eating at. Good breakfast though of baguettes, crossaints, eggs and coffee/tea. Service from the reception staff was a bit patchy, some a lot more helpful than others. Overall very good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    52
    33
    12
    5
See reviews for
3
38
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Clean and comfortable room, unfortunately hot water seemed to be in short supply during our two night stay which was annoying. Breakfast was good but not enough seating and had to wait around for a table on both mornings until one vacated by other guests. Hotel was fully occupied during our stay and there are only 4 or 5 tables for breakfast - some guests had to sit on sofas in the lobby to eat their breakfast. Staff were friendly and very accommodating.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have balconies and are brighter and feel more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The rating I see for Avalon is a 3.5, and that is about right. I give it a four, because - well, it does everything you would want a relatively cheap hotel to do. It is downtown (but not as close as I would like to the river and center). It is clean. My room was ready when I came, and the front desk guy recommended I wait a few minutes for a better room, as the one ready right on arrival (I was early, 11:30) didn't have a window. I appreciate that. The WiFi worked. The TV and its remote too. I was on the second floor, so only one floor to walk up. The breakfast was mediocre, but edible. Nothing special (for that, see the Khamvongsa, which was full) but nothing wrong - and for the Agoda price, that is all I would expect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Rooms are clean and OK, but nothing special. The view is of the subarbs of the City, location is not on the Riverside but a 15 minute walk. The disadvantage that disturbed me the most is that the room was infested with mosquitoes. Nice breakfast with an outside terrace.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

There is no TV in the single rooms ($18) but wifi available. Good breakfast (included) served outside. Comfy lobby w/newspapers. Hot water with strong pressure. Has an elevator, so good if you have a lot of luggage.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was my second stay at Avalon Hotel and I enjoyed it very much.
Pros: great location in central Vientiane, good clean rooms, great hot showers, good breakfast (on the last day, I realized one could get eggs for breakfast), good beds with clean sheets changed every day, good WiFi
Con: I traveled on my own so the size of the room was fine, I would have felt cramped with a travel companion in the same double room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Location is very near to little Chinatown in Vientiane where you can find food and shopping. Its located in the city centre but on the other street which is quieter. Hotel lobby decor is nice and clean. Lift is a little too narrow. Room are big, clean, hot shower water. Mattress is hard and I cant really sleep well at night. Unfortunately, breakfast is limited only with eggs, bread and some fruits. Breakfast in right infront of the hotel. Wifi is fantastic. My room on the 3rd floor, air con was dripping water and I went down to the reception and they change for me immediately.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 070 Rue Phnom Pen Unit 8 | Ban Anou Chanthaburi District, Vientiane, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 81 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Vientiane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.