We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not Amphone” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kualao Restaurant

Kualao Restaurant
134 Samsenthai Road | Thatdam intersection, Vientiane, Laos
856 21 215 777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 236 Restaurants in Vientiane
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“OK but not Amphone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I’ve been told this is a restarant favoured by Westerners looking for an authentic Laos experience and the traditional band and dancer obviously pander to that need. Personally, I found it a bit pricey, forced and a bit pretentious. I much prefer Amphone or Laos Kitchen for quality Laotian food in a pleasant atmosphere. There is a good wine list and plenty of choice and a vegetarian wouldn’t go hungry here – how can you with tofu spring rolls? It’s not somewhere I’d rush back to – just not overly impressed considering the prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kualao, Owner at Kualao Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear PhineasPhogg,

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your honest opinion. We are glad you enjoyed the vegetarian selections. As for the wine list, if you haven't tried the Pinot Noir from New Zealand, please do!

We have been in business for 20 years and we are always accepting constructive criticism. Regarding price, we would say we are quite affordable for the mainstream market and our regular clientele frequent us precisely because we are reasonably priced. We acknowledge the comparison to Amphone and Laos Kitchen (we do eat there occasionally ourselves), and whilst everyone is entitled to their opinion, we believe that there are things that we can do better at and others, we cannot.

Thank you for taking the time to leave comments. If you would like to speak with us privately, please do not hesitate to email us at reservation@kualaorestaurant.com. We look forward to your next visit to Kualao.

Thanks,
Kualao Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    62
    31
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Entebbe, Uganda
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A taste of Lao for tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The taste is definitely toned down - not as spicy and the flavors don't really come out. But friends I have brought here still complained about how spicy everything was - despite the food had "virtually no spice in it." But again, an introduction to Lao cuisine.

Went back for lunch a couple of weeks ago after a few years. They still have the dinner show which is always entertaining. Service is still great - very attentive.

Quite pricey for Vientiane though - a full course with drinks would set you back by about $40.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kualao, Owner at Kualao Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear edfaigmane,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your opinion. We shall make sure that your message is conveyed to the wait staff who will appreciate your compliment. We hope that the price was worth your time!

We look forward to your next visit to Kualao.

Thanks,
Kualao Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“average fare...comes with dinner show though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have been here before. the dinner show was interesting but must say the prices of the dinner menu is on the pricey side and food is average. Enjoyed myself watching the cultural performances. went with a friend who wanted to watch a show. Don't think i will be abck again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kualao, Owner at Kualao Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Wishdocbrian,

Thank you for taking the time to leave comments. We're happy that you liked the show, but are sad that you didn't enjoy the food. Which dishes did you try? Perhaps the other 100+ items (that is only a fraction of what Lao food consists of) on the menu will interest you? Please give us another opportunity to show you what authentic Lao cuisine has to offer.

If you would like to speak with us privately, please do not hesitate to email us at reservation@kualaorestaurant.com. We look forward to your next visit to Kualao.

Thanks,
Kualao Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“beautiful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

lovely place to eat and agreat experience of Lao culture, meal was well presented, served quickly and tasted great, a traditional band played and some dancers came on also, overall well wortha visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kualao, Owner at Kualao Restaurant, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear haggis58,

Thank you for the 5 star rating and wonderful comments. We hope to see you again at Kualao really soon.

Thanks,
Kualao Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great traditional Lao food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

It's a must try. The menu is authentic as per my Lao friend and the food was great. It's reasonably priced a d the dishes were tasty and wel presented. Lao food however is not exactly Vietnamese nor Thai and some octave dishes may need you to have an acquired taste. The live performance was gret but the service is a bit slow. The only problem with the place was mosquitoes which By the way is there everywhere in Laos

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kualao, Owner at Kualao Restaurant, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Bluessp,

Thank you for taking the time to leave comments. We are sorry that you experienced slow service. It must have been a very busy night as is often the case. We have already begun to hire and train more staff so as to be able to make all of our guests experience the fastest and efficient as possible. Since your last visit, we have also attached great importance on mosquito pest termination by way of installing two different types of mosquito repellents inside and outside the restaurant. And yes, we agree - mosquitoes are everywhere.

If you get the chance to come back to our humble place again, we'll look forward to making up for your earlier experience.

Thanks,
Kualao Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kualao Restaurant also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Kualao Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kualao Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.