We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good tradition” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Vendome

Le Vendome
Th In Paeng, Vientiane, Laos
(021) 216402
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 250 Restaurants in Vientiane
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Skivarp, Sweden
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“good tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is one of the older restaurants in vientiane. French style cuisine. It is cheap compared to europe prices and not too bad to be lao. Rich servings, well spiced and my lamb cutlets were perfectly cooked. My friends had sea food and were very pleased with that.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    56
    32
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Ate twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Around the corner from the
Salana. Enjoyed the bistro French food. Reasonably priced. Many French speakers dining. I take this to be a good sign!





Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Somewhat unimpressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Rather underwhelming unfortunately. I opted for the plat du jour - fish and rice - for lunch. Which is exactly what it was. Standard white rice shaped into a dome next to a (pretty small) fillet of fish. The fish was perfectly cooked, and there was the hint of a buttery sauce on top, but it was all rather bland. I'd hoped for something a little more imaginative - perhaps there are gems lurking in the rather long menu...

Atmosphere was pleasant enough but tables could have been cleaner and service less sullen. Not one I'd go back to in a hurry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wide selection of good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Little to add from previous reviews, expect to say that in mid Sept 2013 I had dinner with friends, we sat outside and enjoyed a good meal of steaks and pasta washed down with the ubiquitous beer lao. The only thing that indicated it's 'Frenchness' is the name, the food selection is wide and in my view has more Italian than French. I would happily return for another meal, but I wouldn't beat a path there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sensational food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

After feeling unwell in S.E.Asia for weeks and craving some home style western food but never being able to find a meal to satisfy, I found it here and have been feeling great ever since! Im not an expert on french cuisine but the rabbit in wine sauce was just amazing and the roast potatoes perfection. Make sure to leave some room for the creme brulee!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vendome also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Le Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Vendome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.