We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“by coincidence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cave des Chateaux

La Cave des Chateaux
Nam Phou Square, Vientiane, Laos
+856 21 212 192
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 229 Restaurants in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $50
Cuisines: French, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: La Cave Des Chateaux Restaurant is a French fusion restaurant, located in the center of the flourishing Vientiane Capital. First opened in 1998, we are proud to be one of the first restaurants to have ever opened in the beautiful Lao Oasis. We welcome you to indulge yourself with our Lao- French fusion cuisine, balancing perfectly the East and the West into a "lamvong" of fresh local ingredients paired with genuine French wines. Enjoy our comfortable and intimate Colonial Bistro setting, accompanied by seductive smooth jazz and romantic views over Vientiane's historical Namphou Square.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“by coincidence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We strolled past this restaurant and decided to have our dinner there. We really liked the quality of the food and the service was friendly and efficient. We had goose liver with a fresh salad and fresh bread for starter and the duck breast in a nice mango/orange sauce. The desserts were also great and good tasting. A bottle of French wine rounded up the meal. From my point of view I could only recommend this place. Cost for two for the whole treat was about 80 USD.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    29
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beechworth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Superb meal, service outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was an accidental find, everything we tried was delicious from the free starter onwards, the staff were delightful, friendly and graciously attentive. The house red wine was great, we had to try dessert as well chocolate souffle with grand marnier oooooh so good
Could not recommend this restaurant more highly for quality and price when in Vientiane

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“True french food in asia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful boutique french restaurant with a chef/owner who obviously loves his restaurant. And it shows in the food he cooks. Every dish we ate was perfect. 10 out of 10 we will defently be back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lüdenscheid
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Try the French-style Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We went there for dinner but were not very hungry. We ordered a French-style pizza which was great. Since we were not in the mood for any beer, wine or soft drinks we only drank water which was for free all night.
The coffees are overpriced, ranging from 3 to 4 Euro per cup.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
504 reviews 504 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Spent New Year's Eve eating in this restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were 8 people spending the evening dining on a set menu, multi coursed meal, which had been very cleverly composed and presented in an attractive surrounding. The owner was personally involved in the selection and preparation of all of the dishes and his love of food came out in every course. Everything was delivered hot and fresh in spite of the restaurant being full that particular evening. The only criticism I would have of the restaurant is that smokers seem to be attracted by the ambience. The air in the restaurant itself was very thick with smoke, luckily we were seated outside. I would definitely recommend the food and location.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cave des Chateaux also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to La Cave des Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cave des Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.