We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khop Chai Deu

Khop Chai Deu
54 Setthathirat Rd, Vientiane 0001, Laos
(021) 263829
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 250 Restaurants in Vientiane
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Khop Chai Deu is a friendly way to say "Thank You", a name easy to remember. It is the place where the people meets and eats! The oldest and best located restaurant in the heart of Vientiane, and you get a taste of Lao foods or try our international dishes and make yourself at home. Come in to relax, enjoy the live music, and drink to new friendship. Khop Chai Deu has always been "The Place Where The World Meets".
Mackay, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Out of the restaurants we went to this was our favourite during our time in Vientiane. The food was great and well presented with a big range and the beer was nice, cold and cheap. the location is right next to the fountain and the service is great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    137
    80
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This restaurant and bar is centrally located, near the fountain area. When we went there it was packed out but we had no problem with service which was friendly and efficient. The menu consists mainly of Thai, Lao and Indian food with many tempting items. The Lao set menus are worth trying out. The flavours are good, not toned down for timid western palate but not too fiery either. Prices are commensurate with the kind of place it is. Free wifi.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Value and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I would start this review by saying that you have to go, to experience what it is like to have great service, good local food and good value for money. The restaurant says that it is the place to meet, and whilst I am normally wary of such statements, I would have to say that it is the place to meet. From the moment we walked in, the smiles and the quite genuine concern for us to have a good dining experience did not stop. The menu was comprehensive with a good selection of local dishes, after all, why travel across the world to eat pizza?
The service that we got from Joh was very very good, and he enjoyed being there to help us enjoy our meal.
One of the best local Lao dishes I have had, and my wife and I will certainly go back there. Dont take my word for it, go and try for yourself

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koror, Palau
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everything....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Khop Chai has everything...Great food, so many different dishes and drinks at very good prices, best food ever. Great service, at one point had three people serving our table of 4, very friendly and recognized us the second, third, fourth time there. Great atmosphere, this probably led to the great food and great service...but it was a restaurant with a live band, not too loud and great music...a definite must go place when in Vientianne. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
“Great bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We loved this bar / restaurant in the heart of Vientiane. Good atmosphere, plenty of people and all the guys in Management and Service are really super helpful! The Lao food was good too. More the soft westerner version, but we still enjoyed the dinner.

Oh and they have those beerlao towers you can see in the lonely planet which is a plus. Go there for a beer and you will have a good evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khop Chai Deu also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Khop Chai Deu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khop Chai Deu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.