We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food and coffee” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Joma Bakery Cafe

Joma Bakery Cafe
Th Setthathirat, | near Namphou Fountain, Vientiane 85600, Laos
021215265
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Bakeries in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: American, Bakeries, Canadian, Bagels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Nice food and coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

They do a nice cup of coffee and the cakes are also fairly good. Staff are a bit slow and don't seem very interested. Wifi is slow. The Hanoi shop was much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    221
    77
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket Town, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good coffee good staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I like joma it is a friendly place with really good coffee (a must for me) and nice staff even though I don't understand the hats they all wear.
The food here is good it is quite a limited menu but is is a coffee shop not a restaurant.
The staff are always polite and happy and I go there most days when in Vientiane.
The only negative I could give is if dining on a budget it is a little pricey for food $4-$5 and coffee is $2.75 for large latte but I like the place and will be going tomorrow morning for my coffee as opposed to the instant crap my hotel serves.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very,Very Disappointed....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We ordered delivery of cakes,buns & Shake, we understand it will take at least 40-50mins we can accept...we ordered at 230pm but arrived at 4pm...ok!...when arrived all the items we ordered were not up to the taste it should be...for example...Cinnamon Bun very nice when its warm.. when arrived it was like it just came out from the refrigerator hard...

To us NO MORE Joma...its just all the hype for nothing...there are surely better places than JOMA.

NOT worth a single cent....SO disappointing.....cannot accept this at all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Uninspiring 'western' style bakery cafe.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Don't be fooled by this rather dull little bakery cafe, there are plenty more cafe's in the city which are better,perhaps its just the location that travellers like.

The coffee is ok but nothing special the cakes are tasteless which is not unusual throughout asia , its the way our brothers and sisters from asia like their cakes great looking but not exactly tasty very 70's.

The sandwiches are equally uninspiring but on the positive side the staff are very friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Something else in SE Asia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

This bakery has a selection that we westerns crave after a few weeks in Asia. I had the whole grain egger bagel and a black coffee. It was truely a delight, and the only thing that it drawback with this place are the prices. Not too bad, but still a bit too much for backpackers:)

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joma Bakery Cafe also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Joma Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joma Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.