We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fujiwara Restaurant

Fujiwara Restaurant
Th Luang Prabang, Vientiane, Laos
(021) 222210
Improve this listing
Ranked #137 of 237 Restaurants in Vientiane
Restaurant details
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Fuji place in the tourist center doesn't compare to this place. Excellent Japanese food, both sushi and other styles.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
1 review
“Expensive for what it offers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I paid for a place of sushi and a beer, 210 thousand kip! had to wait for a long time to be served and found my own table since waiters/waitresses were very busy serving tables. Noisy... like a Mc Donalds of Japanese food. If wanting less expensive Japanese food and in the center of the city, much better Nos Sushi Bar! no comparison.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a rip-off!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The decor, the number of staff working, and the menu selection - excellent! The actual value for your money - what a rip-off! I couldn't believe the price of everything on the menu! And for average sushi!! I pay less for better sushi in inland Canada! And the sashimi only came with 2 pieces, something I wish would have been pointed out to us ahead of time. And you have to pay EXTRA on top of the high priced sushi for wasabi, ginger, hand wipes, and green tea! Wish we never bothered.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent sushis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I try to go there once in a while and have to admit that the quality of the products is quite good. I love the fresh salmon imported from Norway. Last visit, I was a bit disappointed by the tuna (also imported from Norway). Overall, it is a good Japanese restaurant. Service is fine.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in Vientiane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Don't know why we didn't visit this excellent restaurant before. We were invited to join friends, who had already ordered a selection of dishes ahead of time. It was overwhelming, but everything tasted excellent and was well presented. Service was good We were a group of ten in a private room, which got a bot hot at times when the doors staid closed too long. Otherwise, the atmosphere is cozy. The sashimi tasted relatively fresh, and was of good quality. A novelty for me: briefly deep fried Californian roll; makes the nori very crisp. Highly recommended form families, groups, couples and business dinners.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fujiwara Restaurant also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Fujiwara Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fujiwara Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.