We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise in Vientiane” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fujiwara Restaurant

Fujiwara Restaurant
Th Luang Prabang, Vientiane, Laos
(021) 222210
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 236 Restaurants in Vientiane
Restaurant details
Vientiane, Laos
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in Vientiane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Don't know why we didn't visit this excellent restaurant before. We were invited to join friends, who had already ordered a selection of dishes ahead of time. It was overwhelming, but everything tasted excellent and was well presented. Service was good We were a group of ten in a private room, which got a bot hot at times when the doors staid closed too long. Otherwise, the atmosphere is cozy. The sashimi tasted relatively fresh, and was of good quality. A novelty for me: briefly deep fried Californian roll; makes the nori very crisp. Highly recommended form families, groups, couples and business dinners.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Fantastic Japanese food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Having lived in Japan for well over a decade I am somewhat of a Japanese food snob, so I was surprised at the quality and taste exhibited by this Japanese resto located on a touristy side street in Vientiane. The place was full of Japanese residents and tourists, a great sign, and the menu contained all the classic and even some specialty dishes not often found outside of Japan. I ordered the hiyashi chuka, a cold noodle dish that's hard to make correctly, and it was really good. The sashimi looked very good, the chef was very practiced in my opinion. By Laotian standards this place is expensive, but cheap if compared to Japan or other developed countries.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sushi, Sashimi and Sake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

The best Japanese restaurant in Vientiane, easy. If you're in a group, ask for the little rooms at the back, private and fun. We rarely manage to eat anything other than the delicious sashimi, but the soft-shelled crab is fab, and so is the eel, and, just, yum.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise in Vientiane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

As a lover of Japanese food, I was pleasantly surprised to have found fujiwara. Everything that I have tried on their menu is good, but the yakitori sets that they have are worth a try. The cheese on stick was initially odd, but after one bite, i fell in love. Their agedashi tofu and edamame are good entres and a bowl of miso soup completes the meal. They also have sushi and sashimi.. Service is quite good. Its smart to book a table or get there early to avoid disappointment!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“for laos lets say average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

being a lover of great Japanese food, i found it below average, of course for a country as Laos maybe could be just average, but definitely its missing the right touch of a Japanese Chef.

Seem well patronized by locals, and service not bad, prices also not too expensive but if you compare with quality, well nothing impressive

i do not think i will be back

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fujiwara Restaurant also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Fujiwara Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fujiwara Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.