We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good vibe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Douang Deuane Restaurant & Wine Bar

Douang Deuane Restaurant & Wine Bar
Th Francois Nginn, Vientiane, Laos
(021) 241154
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 222 restaurants in Vientiane
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food, good vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Randomly found this place when looking for somewhere cheap to eat. Food was very tasty. Staff and owner were great. Some people were playing some nice tunes on the piano. Would go back here for sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    40
    37
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of my favourites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Douang Deuane is one of the nice little secrets of Vientiane. The French host is amiable, the atmosphere is laid back (but this is Vientiane so that's to be expected) and the place has a nice feel to it. I live here so go there regularly - unfortunately I cannot comment on the whole menu because I always have the same thing - Fried Whole Mekong River Fish. This is not something to be eaten with knife and fork. Sure you may start off that way but I find that my fingers are the most suitable implements for getting the sweet white flesh from the bones. It's easy to eat - take all the meat from one side, ask for a plate for your bones, then lift the skeleton from the plate and enjoy the other side. The fish is always fresh and, as I said, sweet and moist - truly delightful.
His desserts are also worth the visit - especially the chocolate pie.
Inexpensive, attentive service, fresh food, nice quiet street with little or no traffic, more like a mall. Try and get one of the two tables for two on the balcony upstairs and watch the passing parade below, or sit outside downstairs and enjoy the cool evening air. And if you're going upstairs, make sure you hold the rails when climbing or descending them - they seem to have been imported from an old sailing ship.
Would I go back there? I do all the time - one of my favourites in a town where there are plenty of excellent choices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice French and Lao Fusion Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Tried it out over Lunch and Dinner on two separate days.
Good Food, both French with a Lao touch and Fusion Laotian Dishes.
Generous Portions, Decent Service and Good Value.
Reasonably Priced Drinks.
Piano needed Tuning!.
Budget about Us$ 12 - 14 per person. Wines can add to the bill.
Highly Recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and an upright piano.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Following my tried and trusted theory that the best restaurants are usually to be found in side-streets, and not on main road, we ventured up Th. Francois Nginn to seek our evening meal.

After browsing the menus of several restaurants, we came across the menu outside Douang Deuane and found it tempting. The seating looked fine, tables clean, subdued lighting with Jazz music gently playing in the background. We thought we would give it a try.

After studying the menu, we ordered fried shrimps with ginger as a starter. Delicious! This was followed by grilled Mekong River fish, accompanied by servings of steamed and sticky rice. All perfectly cooked and delicious.
We also had a serving of steamed vegetables to go with the fish. Awful. Over-boiled vegetables would have been a more fitting title. Wet, tasteless and flaccid.

For dessert we had a plate of fresh fruit. Fresh and delicious.

I had a coffee to follow. One of the best I have had in any restaurant.

All this, including a large bottle of mineral water, for the very reasonable price of 137,000 kip. (13.5 euros).

We were so satisfied with the meal and ambience that we returned the next day. (Risky...).

This time, the host of the restaurant, who had served us our food on the previous day, was, somewhat surreally, playing classical pieces more than adequately on an upright piano. How could he have known that this was exactly the accompaniment I would like for our evening meal?

This time we had steamed Mekong River fish, with various accompaniments, all delicious. (I would have liked the small bottle of mineral water we had on this visit to have been cracked open at our table, and not brought to us with the top off).

The pappaya salad and fried shrimps in sweet basil were as good as any I've had in Thailand. The bill this time was 123,000 kip. (12 euros).

A splendid restaurant. Welcoming host, friendly and efficient staff. Excellent food, comfortable chairs, everything clean, unobtrusive music.

If we go to Vientiane again, we will certainly pay another visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised when stumbled upon.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were looking around restaurants on the same street and it was difficult to find a middle ground (i.e. low price, decent setting & good food options). It was either too expensive or just street food. This also had a nice decor that gives it a fusion of French-Lao look. The food too was a mixture of the best of east & west. We just went for the pasta bolognese & carbonara. Pasta was really fresh and sauces were authentic. The wine wasn't too bad considering the price. Overall, it was perfect if you're going for a middle-priced place with a touch of charm.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Douang Deuane Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Douang Deuane Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douang Deuane Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.