We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent project” 5 of 5 stars
Review of COPE Visitor Centre

COPE Visitor Centre
Boulevard Khouvieng | National Rehabilitation Centre, Vientiane, Laos
+856 (21) 218427
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$39*
and up
Ranked #1 of 26 Attractions in Vientiane
Type: Other
Attraction details
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent project”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

An extremely worthwhile project to help victims of UXO and other disabled people in this desperately-poor country. Informative and balanced. Give generously.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    113
    10
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Go. Should understand history of secret war and casualties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went as group so found it ok and had a talk plus saw video about mine clearance headed by an aussie and a brit. It is sad, slightly shocking the amount of casualties and bombs still there but a story and experience people should go to prior to seeing the other positive delights of Laos. It isnt a big museum and doesnt take that long to get round but worth a visit. Reasonably quiet when we visited and displays did have english writing and there is a small shop where I think most people felt they should buy something or contribute. Rehabilitation does help rebuild lives who really had nothing to do with the Vietnam War.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Difficult to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We walked to the COPE centre, had a map and GPS but it wasn't signposted until we were at the entrance. Other tourists on the way without the use of GPS were also having difficulty finding the centre.
It's well worth a visit to see the work they do for people disabled by unexploded cluster bombs etc. There is also a huge local market in sheds on the way to COPE along Khou Vieng Road which is also worth visiting.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Extremely inspiring.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

For anyone, especially an American who lived through the War in Viet Nam and the secret bombing of Laos, fought in it or opposed it, this is a really important experience. The museum is small and the artifacts are few but the selection of cluster bombs -- some shaped like tempting small fruits -- the array of homemade artificial limbs and the photos and short film that explain the effects of unexploded ordnance on the people and the economy of Lao make a tremendous impression. We weren't there more than an hours, but it was enough. When I got back to NYC I contacted my congressperson to urge them to support a greater State Dept. budget for clearing of mines. Really worth the trip to be reminded of the long term consequences of our foreign policies.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangri-La County, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“They are doing an excelent work, very informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

COPE is a must do in Vientiane. The rehabilitation center shows the terrible story of the bombing of Laos, 280 millions of bombs!!!. there are information, pictures, documentaries, samples, etc.
The center also helps a lot of Lao people mutilated by those bombs. Try to visit the center, you can help with donations, volunteering, buying some articles, etc.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed COPE Visitor Centre also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to COPE Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage COPE Visitor Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.