We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Laos food and great concept” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makphet Restaurant - CLOSED

Makphet Restaurant
Sethathirat Rd | Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 01000, Laos
021 260587
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open Monday to Saturday from 11am to 10.30Pm (Kitchen closes at 9.30Pm) This award-winning restaurant (Miele Guide) is the culinary destination of choice in the Laotian capital, Vientiane. Makphet offers creative Lao cuisine, as well as great shakes and cocktails, all in beautiful surroundings. The restaurant also has a small gift shop attached to it, selling products made by families which will help keep their children in education.
Vientiane, Laos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Laos food and great concept”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was one of the best food experiences that I had in Laos. The menu is sourced from all over the county and put together in inventive and contemporary ways. I would advise going in a group if possible so that dishes can be shared. Laos food is new to me, so this was a great way to experiences many traditional dishes whilst finding out what I do and don't like in Laos cuisine.

This is also a training restaurant and provides skills to former street children which is a good cause. There is also of information about the NGO available whilst you dine.

We went during happy hour (an hour and a half) which is good value with 50% off drinks (including wine which is important for me!). The best drink on the menu by far was the hibiscus and lime freeze with vodka. Completely different form anything I have tried before.

The location is small, so I would advise to either book or go early. We missed out our first night in Vientiane as it always seems to be full. Kitchen also closed at 9 pm, so it needs to be an early feed, but they will stay open for drinks until 9:30 - 10pm.

Will definitely return to this spot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    163
    48
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Makphet Restaurant touches the heart through the stomach.
Nothing but a sense of gratitude for the great, highly professional and skilled, smiling, friendly and sweet staff.
Including the cooks, because the food is wonderful. A great respect of the primary ingredients, creative but not crazy interpretation of traditional Lao Cuisine, perfect cooking time and bouquet of flavors.
Last but not least, the interior design, very warm, discreet but beautiful.
Definitely a model for the future development of the hospitality in Vientiane.
Thank you!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Genuine Lao food with a wonderful cause”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This restaurant is run by a organisation which assist disadvantaged children and "at risk" children throughout Lao so as you consume the wonderful Lao cuisine, who know that each dollar you spend is assisting. True Lao cuisine. No western food available.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“very nice food, great electic choice, service with nothing but smiles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was a bit surprised at how good the food was here, I asked for their best dishes and we choose three of them and boy were we not disappointed. Looking for a little more heat they brought me a bowl of the small chilies which made my green mango chicken salad just short of ecstasy. the prices here are comparable to similar restaurants, not soup kitchen level but not higher than the neighbors, either. And really reliable food.

While the restaurant is a project to train street kids they are delivering a restaurant service equal to best in moderately priced restaurants in Vientiane. I highly advice anyone to go. If you want traditional Lao food, ask for it that way. I discovered that nothing everything they recommend is on the menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I read a review that the food had become mundane, perhaps dumbed down for the tourists. Maybe the reviewer either didn't understand Lao food or didn't know how to communicate with the wait staff, in either case I disagree. Had the spicy beef salad and it was great. I would recommend this restaurant just on the merit of it's food, or just on the merit of the project it represents. Either way or both it's a winner in my book. Staff is very friendly, food is plentiful and quite delicious. Only down side is the rude tourists smoking on the porch, but that's the way it is.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makphet Restaurant also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makphet Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.