We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sandwiches in Southeast Asia...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PVO

PVO
Th Fa Ngum, Vientiane, Laos
(021) 214444
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 237 Restaurants in Vientiane
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches in Southeast Asia...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Well, that's possibly an exaggeration but no trip to Vientiane is complete without a meal at PVO...

Great sandwiches: fresh baguettes and your choice of yummy fillings. Approx $2 for huge, $1 for regular.
Noodle salads: with beef or pork and lots of savory herbs, and a fried spring roll.

And I always carry away a sandwich - baguette plus sweetened condensed milk - for dessert.

The omelet sandwiches are great too.

I haven't had the banh xeo, but it does look good too. And everyone raves about the yummy shakes, but I always have the super thick, wonderful iced coffee...! Incredibly thick - and not nescafe!

Presently located near the COPE visitor center and Green Park hotel...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
VIentiane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Vietnamese in Vientiane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

YUM YUM YUM!

I love the passionfruit shake, the beef noodle salad with a turmeric curry sauce), and other Vietnamese food. The menu is easy to understand.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entebbe, Uganda
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice sandwiches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

My wife drags me here when I am home to eat their sandwiches - French bread stuffed with meat, veggies, cheese, and sauce. Nice.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vientine
1 review
“Best vietnamese food in Laos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

PVO has moved from the waterfront to a street below the morning market, towards the Mekong. Go past the morning market to the bus station, keep going 2 streets, then turn right towards the Mekong, then left on the 2nd street. There's a sign there.
It's great, authentic Vietnamese food, wonderful sandwiches, great coffee and fruit shakes. They're moving back to near the waterfront in 6 months.

I should mention this very friendly family also let me store my motorcycle there,
an old soviet Minsk, and also spent a lot of time helping me fix a carb problem that another mechanic screwed up. I highly recommend them if you need bike repairs
especially for larger bikes.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Authentic cheap Vietnamese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

Stopped by for lunch and had a very tasty and authentic spring roll and fish soup all for about $4. The menu is extremely limited but they use fresh local ingredients and all salads are washed in purified water. It is asian street cafe in style and seemed popular with locals. We passed by in the evening and it was closed so might only be a lunch place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PVO also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to PVO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PVO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.