We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for business but not centrally located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Dragon Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Dragon Hotel
60, Elebaev Str, Bishkek 720005, Kyrgyzstan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Bishkek
USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good hotel for business but not centrally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011 via mobile

Nice hotel for the region but not in a location near restaurants, etc. You'll need transportation. Rooms are clean and spacious but beds were not the most comfortable. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    25
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
7
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde, Denmark
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Very nice hotel with an almost perfect staff. The rooms are very nice but needs maybe a little maintanence - especially in showers area. Do not go for the food that are nice but very, very slow.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

The rooms in this hotel are enormous and comfortable, although the cigarette stained carpet in my 'deluxe suite' could have done with being replaced. However housekeeping is very good, the bedlinens are lovely quality, towels and bathrobes thick and fluffy, plenty of toiletries, free bottled water and chocolate and a well-stocked mini bar at reasonable prices. Had some problems with the plumbing but they were resolved quite quickly, as were issues with the international channels on the TV but I think that was weather related. My shower head did fall apart and there was a little difficulty explaining that just pushing it back on didn't fix it because the water pressure just pushed it off again, but it was replaced later that day.

The best thing about this hotel was the service - there was nothing too much trouble for the staff. They even brought a selection of swimming costumes to my room as I hadn't brought one and needed it for the spa area. As it happened none of them fitted, as I'm not a petite Asian woman, so don't forget to bring yours!

I really enjoyed the breakfasts here - please be aware that Kyrgyz don't do coffee so it's only instant (espresso on request), but the tea is good - I thught the sashimi style fish (no wasabi) was great and the cottage cheese filled pancakes with fresh strawberries delicious. Yes some of the dishes on offer may have seemed a bit odd, but it's a buffet and there are plenty of other choices and the staff were more than happy to make porridge for a colleague who had stomach problems.

Food in the restaurant in the evenings is not so good; the soups are great but consistently the meat dishes were not cooked well. Room service is free. Internet access is not, which I thought a bit odd in a 5-star hotel where the room price could easily cover it, but the Business Centre is a pleasant space to work on a desktop, and has a fabulous fish tank.

All in all this hotel is very good; it is not 5-star by European or US standards, but then it doesn't charge European or US 5-star prices, so I think that's ok. One last point, Bishkek is surrounded by beautiful snow-capped mountains - you can't see them from this hotel; it is surrounded by apartment blocks of equal height.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Good value business hotel which is an affordable option for those who cannot afford an international chain. The internet failed completely one night I was there, but they rectified it. The rooms are large.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

It's as if the GD is trying to impress, but doesn't quite know how. I'll pass on the piped-in music in the hallways, thank you very much.
The breakfast buffet provides food for thought: Kudos for the free cappucinos and smoked salmon, but wasn't that veal with mushrooms what they served for dinner last night? Why are the three-minute eggs cold? Who eats sauteed vegetables and steamed fish for breakfast?
The airport pickup is a welcome sight especially for flights arriving at odd hours, as Manas is a 30-40 minute drive away, and the gypsy cabs are not to be trusted.
The beds have gotten better. They used to be like sleeping on the floor, but last time I was there they'd added mattress pads, so are comfortable. But the carpet is grimy and the cheap bathroom fixtures and bizarre shower treacherous.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We arrived in Bishkek right in the middle of civil turbulences, but these had already moved south to the region of Osh; still we felt a bit quite afraid. What we found were very cheerful and lovely people and no direct feeling of insecurity. In fact, Kirgizstan will stay in our memories as the most interesting country of the four Central Asian countries (couldn’t do Tajikistan) that we visited and the only one where we would we would feel inclined to return (and see more especially of the mountain areas).

The Golden Dragon is just a 15 minutes drive away from the downtown area (Ala-Too Square), so really you feel a bit isolated there. On the other hand, the hotel is fenced with walls, also there is a 24/7 security personnel, so you feel secure (which was important for us during this time). We saw that the hotel is mainly used by foreign tourists groups (mainly older people) and during breakfast time, we could not identify other individual travelers.

Rooms were o.k. (relatively big) but the bed mattresses were really hard (some people like the futon-style, I dont). The breakfast was no really fit for human consumption. Also Internet services did not work and the pool was not in use during our stay. But so what: in such a political situation, what do you expect… Therefore, the smaller and major inconveniences did not really disturb us.

From what the tourist guides told us, the only real top hotel in town is the Hyatt (had a coffee there and the lobby area really looks great), but the impertinent rates above 300 EUR per night justify a boycott of such a hotel for the classical tourist visitor. The Dragon hotel certainly cannot be considered a perfect value deal for 150EUR per night neither, but in comparison to the Hyatt it is definitely a much better deal.

The front desk arranged two guided tours, one covering downtown Bishkek and the other one trekking up to the waterfalls at Issik-Ata (around 80km from Bishkek away). Bothe highly recommendable.

For dinner, we went to the restaurants in the Lebedinonka village and to the Arzu-Restaurant (downtown). Great food, good ambience and nice service (although only few people speak english).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Our group of 12 stayed here two nights. The location was not great but the service, room and the excellent food made up for the location which was quite far from the centre of town. The staff was professional; the rooms were very clean and quiet. They even had wi-fi in the lobby. The only slight negative was the outrageous prices for laundry!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Dragon Hotel

Address: 60, Elebaev Str, Bishkek 720005, Kyrgyzstan
Location: Kyrgyzstan > Bishkek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bishkek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Dragon Hotel Bishkek, Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Dragon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.