We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Interhouse Bishkek

Save Saved
You added Interhouse Bishkek to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Interhouse Bishkek
Topograficheskiy Pereulok 9 | Abdrahmanov st. cross Skryabin st., Bishkek 720020, Kyrgyzstan   |  
Hotel amenities
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This place is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have had several friends stay here and, based on their and my own experiences, want to direct future travelers here as well! The owner is so nice, the place is clean and pretty, there is always a cool crowd of backpackers, and the price is great too. I would make sure to book in advance, as it was recently completely full and some friends had to go elsewhere. also, the location is a little tricky to find, but it is still right in Bishkek - so don;t let this stop you! If you have difficulty finding it or are concerned about that I recommend taking a taxi and calling the hostel while in the taxi and putting them driver on the phone with them.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It is a place like home and you would never want to leave once you stay here. Hidden at the corner of the street, this hostel provides the best place for travellers. The atmosphere there is very nice and a super comfortable living room for travellers from all walks of lives to chat with each other. Once staying there, you would feel as if all the others are your family and the housekeepers are your moms taking care every part of your stay there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I arrived at the hostel around 6 AM after a somewhat long and sleepless flight. At first I was a bit miffed that the lady at reception wanted to check everything just then, and my Russian was really really rusty and her English non-existent. But she did finally show me to the female dorm and I crashed for a few hours.

The female dorm is right by one of the bathrooms and kitchen. It's too far for the wifi signal, which is a down side. Sometimes the kitchen and dining area gets noisy. The beds are comfortable. The breakfasts can get a bit repetitive with fried eggs, or boiled eggs, but the ladies try. You can use the kitchen which is a bonus, as I was stuck in Bishkek for a while applying for visas.

It's only about a 10-15 minute matrushka ride into the city. Being right off Sovetskaya, there are a lot of mashrutkas that run past, going to all three major bazars, and to Mira proskpect where its a short 5-8 minute walk to the Kazakhstan embassy; slightly longer for the Chinese and American embassies. The Tajik embassy is also walking distance - about 15 minutes.

Lots of stalls selling fresh produce nearby, as well as a pretty well stocked supermarket and the Vefa shopping center and cinema, along with a few restaurants are all nearby.

Best of all was the constant turnover of travelers coming through for a few days or weeks in Kyrgyzstan, and a great place to meet other travelers who are either headed your way, or just coming back from where you are going.

The biggest down side is that the ladies do not speak English. However they do try to figure out what you're saying and there are usually enough other people around that speak a bit of Russian to help figure out what's what.

Room Tip: Generally, dining area is only busy at breakfast time, but the female dorm does not have any wifi co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I reiterate previous reviews when I wrote that this place is very hard to find. Head for The Golden Dragon Hotel/restaurant it's around the corner to the right. The beds are new and comfortable, there are dorm and double room options, free internet and WiFi and breakfast is included in the price. The management of the hotel changes daily. None of the ladies spoke English, which could be problematical. The breakfast was variable, depending upon who was on duty that morning. It was usually good, but one of the managers provided a very poor frugal breakfast. I later saw her providing breakfast for her family and friends, presumably out of the same budget. The communal areas were large and the kitchen is for communal use. There is a large courtyard where cars/cycles can be kept. The bathrooms were clean with ample hot water. When the hostel is full to capacity there can be a lengthy wait for the shower - there are just two for 20 people. I paid $15 for a dorm bed -there are cheaper places to stay in Bishkek.

Room Tip: The dorms away from the kitchen and showers are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Interhouse is hard to find, the taxi driver almost gave up a couple of times and it is recommended to have a good map and/or adress/crossing. However, when finally found, the place greeted us with nice staff giving valuable guidance into the city and great help with rooms etc. The value for the price is great and this place works perfectly for the budget-consicious traveller in Bishkek. The breakfast was all right and there are numerous restaurants around the block and nearby main streets. Walk to the center is approx. 20-25min.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

we are on our way from Germany/Austria to New Zealand by bicycle. We are now here for the second time and we will overwinter in this guesthouse. it is well organized, 24/7 reception. the women who work shift do not speak English, only Russian but if there are questions you can always call the well English speaking owner. it is quiet new and it has three dormitories and one double room. two bathrooms with shower. hot breakfast, but only eggs and sausages, so a little bit boring if you stay longer. PC and WiFi for free, laundry for 300 soms. very close to the Sovietskaya/Baytik Batir, where you easily find small buses, public buses and taxis. taxi max. 150 soms (ca. 3 USD), small buses 10 soms, public buses 8 soms.

Room Tip: take a room close to the pc, the Wifi connection is much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The place was a little hard to find but if you have the phone number then you'll be fine - the staff can direct any taxi driver. The beds were comfy and the breakfast was tasty (fried eggs, Kyrgyz crepes, jams, sausages, bread etc). Good location for a Kazakh visa run (200 soms or less in a taxi) and situated near some nice restaurants, a supermarket and a little place with the best samsas (little pastry triangles with meat or cheese in them) I've ever had. The staff didn't speak much English but the manager speaks fluently and if there's ever a problem/question you can't communicate, you can just phone him and sort it out. It's just off one of the main streets (Sovetska aka Soviet Street) so it's easy to get where you want to go, wherever that may be (it's a pretty small city).
The staff did eveything they could to make my stay as enjoyable as possible and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Interhouse Bishkek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interhouse Bishkek

Address: Topograficheskiy Pereulok 9 | Abdrahmanov st. cross Skryabin st., Bishkek 720020, Kyrgyzstan
Location: Kyrgyzstan > Bishkek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty lodging in Bishkek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! «InterHouse» is:That in Europe, called Hostel.The meeting place for all cultures. The atmosphere of international communication. High quality service and low prices. Individual approach to every guest. Living in the heart of city. Many restaurants, cafes and shops. Ideal for accommodation and relax. «InterHouse»— the first and unique hostel in Bishkek which principles are high service and the friendly atmosphere!The name tells for itself «International House» if shortly «InterHouse», so you will be surrounded by the friendly and international atmosphere in which you will open for yourself a lot of new and interesting things. We traveled much, and we know, how it is important - to find the place in any cozy town with the benevolent people and pleasant atmosphere and in the city center.Our hotel is in the center of Bishkek, the pleasant atmosphere envelops all suits, and benevolent people are not only our employees, but also YOU — our guests.We have many friends from different countries and the cities within our country, we with big warmth remember their kindness in all our trips!Therefore our hotel is first priority is HOSPITALITY!Life is all about impressions, and we with pleasure work for your and for pleasant memories of us, of YOU and of Kyrgyzstan!If you for any reasons stopped in Bishkek, the InterHouse hostel is ideal choice, which, despite the small sizes, provides necessary level of comfort and service for the price less than any other hotels. Everything is simple here:Cost of the suit on daily basis is $15, with HOT BREAKFAST included! Want to make a reservation? Don't waste your time – Reserve now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Interhouse Bishkek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Interhouse Bishkek Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Interhouse Bishkek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.