We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best German Beer and Bratwurst in Bishkek” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon's Den

Dragon's Den
557 Frunze Str, Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
+996700584245
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 106 restaurants in Bishkek
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best German Beer and Bratwurst in Bishkek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a nice cozy cafe that attracts foreigners, especially Germans.

They have a nice menu that is both in English and Russian. However, they only have one menu for the entire restaurant. So it took forever, while the other patrons decided what they would eat.

My only other complaint was the cheap plastic chairs and plastic tables that were wobbly for the outside seating.

But my two complaints are minor because of how good the German bratwurst tastes here. My suggestion is to skip the menu and instead ask the waitress for some homemade bread. Then walk up to where the guys are grilling the bratwurst outside on the large gas grill. I tried the pork and the beef bratwurst with a little spicy mustard on each and they were both great. The cost is only 125 KGS per bratwurst.

They also have a decent selection of German and other assorted beer.

If they had nicer outside tables and more than one menu I would give this place a higher rating. But I'll be coming back here for more brats and beer. Just make sure no one bumps the table and spills your beer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    1
    5
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just one of those special places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stumbled across DDB on Wednesday evening to find that they were just about to start with their weekly quiz (in English). Lots of people of every nationality, including locals. The bar is run by an expat Brit who seems to be going native. The menu is good. The BBQ seems to work the year round and the vegetarian options are out of the norm. Staff were fun and friendly and spoke English. The chief seemed to have time to chat and advise whilst pulling us some cold beers. Try the samsi, the vegetarian was really good. And the BBQ'd cheese was a real treat. A good find, worth the visit, and close to the centre.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Kyrgyz dumplings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I came here looking for a praised Japanese restaurant, Watari, which had reinvented itself to Dragon's Den. I asked for vegetarian options and was delighted to hear they had veggie manty (Kyrgyz dumplings filled with potato, carrot and onion, served with kickass chili). They were supposed to have wifi but it turned out they shared the wifi with the hotel across the street and my smartphone was not able to pick up the signal properly. Friendly service, good value.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What the...?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Just wanted to wash my hands and was immediately attaced by the manager, who thought that I wanted to use their facilities without buying a coffee. Kind of bad start. But the girl at the bar was quite nice and coffee was ok. Advice: your manager needs a _serious_ traning in basic communication skills. And, please teach her to say "sorry" in situations like this.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utrecht
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good price, good people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

In October 2012 I stayed in Bishkek a few weeks. By chance we found this restaurant, not far from the centre.
Good thing is that the owner is from British origine and beside English also German is spoken. Food was very tasty, fresly made and not expensive at all. With a rather big group we organized a party there. The cook made very interesting dishes, ( see picture)
We did not only get good food but also good information about what to do and to see while we were in Bishkek

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon's Den also viewed

Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
 
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
 

Been to Dragon's Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragon's Den, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.