We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great common areas, but room quality varies” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asia Mountains

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Asia Mountains to your Saves list
Hotel Asia Mountains
1-A Lineinaya Street, Bishkek 710021, Kyrgyzstan   |  
Hotel amenities
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“great common areas, but room quality varies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

I stayed at the guest house on two occasions within the past month. The guest house is a 30-minute walk (3 USD cab ride) from the city center. The grounds and the lobby are comfortable and well-maintained, but the rooms range from cramped and a bit shabby to very good. However, the beds were nice and firm and there was plenty of hot water. Two tips: (1) Watch out for pick pockets who occasionally hang out near the gate of the guesthouse. I lost my wallet to a clever fellow who, feigning drunkenness, grabbed me around the waist and playfully asked to "wrestle tae kwon do." (2) The Steinbrau, located two blocks from the guesthouse, is a hoot -- a faux-Bavarian beer garden with German food and pretty good beer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
8
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

Our room (14) smelled of mold and cigarettes, but Hotel is well located, they were fully booked so we could not change rooms. From reading reviews other rooms must be better. OK place if your in a pinch, but i cannot recommend it

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

The hotel is just outside downtown Bishkek. In the style of a Swiss ski lodge. Breakfast buffet was good and they will make evening meals on request, which were adequate. Has a lovely garden and pool area. I had a problem with lack of hot water and this proved difficult to resolve due to Russian style customer service.

  • Liked — Garden
  • Disliked — Customer Service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

I spent one night and one long day at this adorable hotel. The staff was very courteous: they were delighted to make me a meal upon my arrival, well after breakfast had been served. The food was yummy and abundant, my room was comfortable and had cable TV, a phone, and an endless supply of really hot water.

All meals are served in the common dining room, which is bright and airy, decorated with houseplants. The hotel also has a small garden. There were a number of options at each meal, and almost all involved meat.

I believe I paid about $40 USD for a night. This isn't a 5-star hotel, but it was clean and a great value for the price.

  • Liked — cleanlieness
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Asia Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asia Mountains

Address: 1-A Lineinaya Street, Bishkek 710021, Kyrgyzstan
Location: Kyrgyzstan > Bishkek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bishkek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asia Mountains Hotel is a cozy hotel located not far from the city-center but at the same time in a quiet area of the Kyrgyz Capital. You can have accommodation in a comfortable 3-storey building as well as in a bungalow in the garden. Friendly staff and excellent food at the restaurant will make your stay unforgettable. For spending your time more interesting there is a tourism informational office at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Asia Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Asia Mountains Bishkek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Asia Mountains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.