We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stuff - eternal thanks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rixos President Astana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rixos President Astana Hotel to your Saves list
Rixos President Astana Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kunaev str. 7, Astana 010000, Kazakhstan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Astana
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great stuff - eternal thanks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Whilst staying here I had an accident ( no fault of the hotel I might add) - actually dislocating my shoulder and I have to say the whole team were fantastic from the top down. Not only did they arrange the ambulance etc but made sure i had an English speaking person with me all the time. This is when an hotel earns its stars!! Anybody can slap on paint and offer room service but its about how the hotel works that really shows the winners.
Incidently the hotel is 5 star all the way through.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulmira_Rixos, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos President Astana Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Dear Sir,

We certainly enjoyed reading your review and would like
to thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at Rixos President Astana.
We are pleased that our professional team made your stay enjoyable and memorable.
We wish you good health and do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Rixos President Astana!

With best personal regards,
Gulmira Temirbekova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    62
    29
    12
    6
See reviews for
1
7
14
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

I'm travel a lot to Astana by business and can say that Rixos President Hotel Astana in the best hotel (by quality) in Astana. As it is 5-star hotel of course it is not cheap one, but quality on the same level :) Not without reason it is main place where official delegations and presidents are staying...
Rooms quite big and very clean, in the bathroom you can find as bath as shower cab as well. One of the important thing for business people is speed and free WiFi.
After busy day you can relax in the SPA, it has diferent kind of saunas and big swimming pool.
During the breakfast you can enjoy background live music (guitar, harp or dombra - kazakh musical instrument) and ofcourse a lot of delicious food.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulmira_Rixos, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos President Astana Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear Sir,
We highly appreciate your nice comments regarding your stay in our hotel. Our main goal is to get 100% guest satisfaction and we are happy to know that we are moving in right direction.
We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our Regular Guest and we are looking forward to welcome you at your next visit. It will be our pleasure to be at your service.

We wish you all the best in your business and personal endeavors.

It will be our pleasure to be at your service.

With Best Personal Regards,
Gulmira Temirbekova
Guest Relations Manager
Rixos President Astana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

By Astana standards of course, this hotel is very good. But compared with hotels outside KZ, it simply does not pass muster. Certainly the lobby is lovely and polished at first glance, and the spa services are nice, but under the gloss one finds things are shabby indeed. The a/c was woefully inadequate to cope with a conference on a hot summer's day, and what there was in terms of catering/room service took ages and the offerings were sparse. Coupled with woefully inadequate IT support and outrageously priced water/tea/coffee that was NOT replenished despite the heat, even with charge, I cannot honestly recommend the Rixos. But it's the best you'll find in Astana.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxembourg
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

As some of the other reviewers on Trip Advisor, I was a bit wary of this hotel. It does look god from the outside but I was apprehensive upon arrival. I must say that I was very pleasantly surprised. The lobby area is very nice, check in was fast and without hassles. My room itself was quite spacious and clean. The same with the bathroom as well. Everything was in good working order as well.

The hotel itself is located in a beautiful area. You can enjoy a lovely walk in the evening enjoying the beauty of Astana. The staff was helpful and courteous. The restaurant was quite expensive but the food was decent. The guy who was serving us actually boasted that we could order anything we liked from or outside of the menu!!! However, as it turned out, some of the choices on the menu were themselves not available!

Overall, probably the best hotel in Astana.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

I have been traveling to Astana for the past three years now, all trips for business purpose, and every time it is a different hotel. Rixos President has truly won over my heart! It is located in a beautiful area of Astana, in a walking distance to both Sariarka and Mega shopping malls, as well as the parliament and the "Tree of Life" - symbol of Astana (that tower with the golden globe on the tip). By walking distance I mean a nice walk around 15-20 mins., so for those who enjoy taking walks and photos - cant find a place better to stay! The staff at the hotel are professional and would do anything and everything to make sure you do feel treated special. The Spa services are a at large variety at good prices as well. Extra tip = across the road from the Hotel, a bit to the right, there is a restaurant, named Italiano - its a must visit place - their food is great! :) enjoy your stay at Rixos!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

I was very apprehensive about staying in the Rixos President hotel after reading the reviews on tripadvisor however I was pleasantly surprised. My room was spacious and very clean and the bathroom was excellent. Everything worked and nothing fell off the walls!
The hotel itself is impressive and the staff were very friendly and helpful. A car and driver were organised for me within minutes of my request. The food was not five star but it was fine. A bonus is the bookshop inside the hotel which has a big selection of English paperback novels. Daily English language newspapers can be printed in 15 minutes. The spa was excellent although most of the therapists could not speak English and had to call the receptionist to translate.
It is about a 20 minute walk to restaurants and shops which is not ideal in winter but would be a pleasant stroll in summer. All in all a good hotel with good facilities but not good enough for a five star rating.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
center
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

This hotel looks nice from a distance but up close it is in a sorry state... the bathroom door did not shut, when I picked up the telephone in the bathroom it fell off the wall--- no nails etc. , just one thin wire holding it on , chairs were broken and it was a bit dirty. The restaurant food was dire and felt like they had it in the fridge too long but I had room service and it was very good-- Staff is not fluent in english and it takes a few times to explain but they are helpful. it was close to the airport and in my opinion, it is way way overpriced for what it is. I also do not love the opulant style but can see that it would appeal to others. The best part was free internet... rare for a top star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rixos President Astana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos President Astana Hotel

Address: Kunaev str. 7, Astana 010000, Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Akmola Province > Astana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Astana
#2 Spa Hotel in Astana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Astana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos President Astana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixos President Astana Hotel is located in new administrative center of Astana! Rixos President Astana is the unique combination of refined architecture and elegant design of interior with rooms comfort and high level service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Rixos President Astana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos President Astana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rixos President Astana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.