We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good steak and great music” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Hara Irish Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
O'Hara Irish Pub
Zheltoksan, 2/2, Astana, Kazakhstan
7 707 570 8883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 116 Restaurants in Astana
Cuisines: Fujian
Restaurant details
Astana, Kazakhstan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good steak and great music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Great night out in O'Hara!
Meat was perfectly grilled. Side dishes were well presented, tasty and generous.
Music (life band) was very good and perfect for dancing after dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My last night in Astana; minus 30C outside - so took a taxi to O'Hara in downtown Astana. Newcastle Brown ale plus a wide range of other beers on draught - but it was the food that really stood out for me....
I ordered cream of mushroom soup, followed by a main course of a T bone steak (cooked medium). Both were delicious - in fact I think they were the best examples of each dish that I have ever had in any restaurant.
There was a jazz band playing during the evening - and a further bonus - the Barcelona vs Valencia game was showing on the large screen TVs around the place - though it was a Saturday afternoon match in Europe - here it was a 9.00pm kick off - ideal! I had hoped that the Stoke vs Man U match would be shown - but apparently Kazakhstan TV prefers the Spanish league - so I had to follow the United match on my tablet only to find that both United and Barcelona were each beaten by an odd goal!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good place for beer, bites and dancing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I met friends out for a social function. The beer was above average for Astana. I like bigger hoppy beers and they can be hard to find in Astana. Make sure you have exact change when paying. The bartender or manager was having a cashflow problem when we were there but it got sorted out after a few drinks. Nice atmosphere and very cozy. Pub grub was actually very tasty and I'd like to go back for dinner one evening. there was a live band and dancing commenced although the dance floor was a bit small. Generally a good place and worth a visit if you're in Astana with a night to spare.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana
1 review
“Awesome place, loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great place, amazing atmosphere, brilliant bar tenders who actually could recommend about any kind of drinks, especially about beer and cocktails. Award winning bar tenders will make you drink very special just for you, and I meant it. We had a great evening there. Must visit place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Hara Irish Pub also viewed

Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 
Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 

Been to O'Hara Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Hara Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.