We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Georgian” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tiflis

Tiflis
Amangeldi Imanov St 10, Astana, Kazakhstan
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 123 Restaurants in Astana
Cuisines: Eastern European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good Georgian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This place may be the best Georgian restaurant in Astana, but it did not blow my mind. There are so many places to enjoy shashlik in Astana, and this place did not stand out. Make not mistake, everything tasted fine and I had no problem going back again with friends, but it simply did not stand out for me. A good option, but not my number one for sure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Never been to Georgia...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

...but this is probably as close as I can hope to get. The food is excellent, the portions generous. Be advised though that if you want to be able to talk, you need to go upstairs. If you have run out of conversation, the life music downstairs will nicely cover this up. Prices are very reasonable, I've been there a few times, and never was disappointed. The house red is a bit... err... rough, but grows on you. Bottled Georgian is probably recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Meat and Potatoes Homemade Style....yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I love food in this place! This is a very old restaurant and you can see it in the interior, not the best one! But the food is great, I love Georgian cuisine. Went there several times and always liked the dishes! Kebabs, salads, warm dishes, soups, everything was always great. The best area is the terrace on the 2nd floor. The best dish is meat and potatoes homemade style...delicious! The location is nice if you want to see the old city center. Not very cheap place though!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Dining Option in Astana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Having traveling to Kazakshtan many times in the past few years for work I have come to know Almaty and Astana very well. The variety of dining options have increased as the country boom and grown in the international scene. One of my favourite restaurants in Astana to dine at is Tilfis. Don’t let the non descriptive exterior fool you. Inside, the restaurant is cozy and nicely decorated. The food served here is mainly Georgian with some local Kazakh dishes thrown in. My standby favorite is to get any of their delicious shashliks (grilled meat) and order a few of their appetizers dishes (for example Adzhabsandali – stewed vegetables in tomato paste baked in a clay dish). Another excellent dish to order is the chicken Chakhokhbili - which is chicken baked with onions, garlic, spices, cilantro and tomato.

Being a vegetarian in Kazakhstan can be difficult as the Kazakh diet is mainly meat. Vegetarians that are looking for a place to dine in the capital can eat their fill with the great selection of hot and cold appetizers on their menu.

They have an English menu but be aware that the translation may need deciphering. Most nights they have live music on the main floor of the restaurant. For two people the bill is approximately US $100 (no alcohol). The service here is very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Georgian fare in Astana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Tiflis is a Georgian restaurant in the older part of Astana. The restaurant has both an upstairs and downstairs eating area. There is also an outdoor area courtyard that was closed when I was there in winter. It opens in the spring and summer according to a colleague. I had mutton soup and a beer. Both were good and the service was typically Astana. Not prompt but not absent, more relaxed like most Asian locales. My colleague lives nearby and eats at Tiflis often and speaks highly of the other menu items. Overall worth a visit if you are in Astana.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiflis also viewed

Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 
Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 

Been to Tiflis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiflis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.