We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot for everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rafe

Rafe
16 Bukeikhan Street, Kenessary | Near Congress Hall, Astana, Kazakhstan
7 7172 391 500
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 116 Restaurants in Astana
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I had two lunches at Rafe while in Astana -- I went back because the first was so good. A couple of things stood out for me at Rafe. First, all types of people were there: families, couples, solo traveler's, co-workers, etc. The vibe there is just very calm and clean and relaxed. And the food just really, really good.

If you are looking for traditional Kazakh food, this is not the place. I had a pizza the first time I went and a calzone the second time. And they were good and more than generous in size (either could easily be shared by two people). Everything on the menu is reasonably priced and, I'm sure, quite good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    27
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Astana, Kazakhstan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best veal ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Good service, a little bit slow but excellent food! We had to wait for our dessert which shouldn't have taken soo long. Reasonable price.Nice location

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“very good lunches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My colleague and I were working for two weeks in an office a few doors away from Rafe and people we were working with recommended it for lunch. We went there most days and thought the pizzas and pasta very good. The staff were friendly and all spoke some English. It's best to get there as close to 12 as possible as the tables fill up fast

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Неплохо но скучновато”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Good food, service sometimes good sometimes so so, interior is nice, sometimes crowdy. Not the best place to go but it is ok to have a dinner.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cute place yet a bit noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A nice cafe to grab a coffee. The meal options are not that good (not a good option for a dinner). However I imagine it might be a good place for a business lunch (unless they are that same slow as they were with our order).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafe also viewed

Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 
Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 

Been to Rafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.