We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice decor but expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caramel Coffee

Caramel Coffee
Imanov Street 10 A, Astana, Kazakhstan
+7 7172 537 388
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 116 Restaurants in Astana
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“nice decor but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

It's a lovely, centrally located place but very expensive! It's sort of a place you go to show off! or at least everybody did :-)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leysin, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice cafe for a cup of Cappuccino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

There are two locations - one on the left bank (new part of Astana) and one on the right bank (old part of town). Both locations offer excellent coffee. The original cafe is located on the right bank on Imanov Street. It is a cozy cafe that offers good dessert and great cappuccino. You get free wi-fi (need to ask for the password). The two locations are decorated completely different. The original location is small and cozy with quaint decorations while the new location (on the left bank) is triple in size with a modern decor done in gray, blue and taupe colour theme with large sofas for lounging in.

Imanov Street Location
The service is very good - you can tell they must treat their staff well as I have the same server every time I have gone there. In the service industry especially in Kazakhstan it is rare to find the same staff working for such a long duration. The same server have served me since I went there the first time three years ago.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice mulled wine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The place is quite near my house, so I used to go there regularly. It is quite cosy plus there a free Wi-fi service. They make good coffee and mulled wine. The food, however, is not too good, even simple panini sandwiches. I would recommend to go there for a cup of coffee and have a dinner somewhere else.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Romantic cafe in a nice neighbourhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I am a coffeelover and I am a local, who spent some time abroad. I really love good coffee and nice food. Unfortunately, In Astana there are not many good coffeehouses with reasonable prices and good kitchen. This is the one.
This place offers a great selection of coffee drinks and an array of sandwiches, paninis and cheeseburger. I found their cheeseburger to be one of the best made in Astana. And the price is just 8 USD (1200 KZT).
In addition, this place is really tranquill and romantic. You can come here to work alone with your laptop. You can invite here your friends or girlfriend.
I highly recommend this place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Forget Starbucks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Nice choice for a leisurely coffee and dessert. I've been stopping by Caramel at least once a week for the past two months for a coffee, and sometimes a meal. The Mega Cappuccino is first rate and reminds me of the exquisite coffees served at just about any small cafe in western Europe. The outdoor area is covered, and with the arrival of summer, the wicker chairs in the shade make for a cool and pleasant visit. The interior is nice as well. They have a menu in English and the food is decent with prices that are reasonable for Astana, a rare treat for your hard earned money. It is a cafe, so they cater to the coffee/drinks/dessert/light meal crowd. Not all items on the menu are available. I always ask for the Spring Rolls, but they never have them and the salads are hit and miss. Sometimes they have a particular one, sometimes they won't. The Apple Pumpkin soup is unusual, but in a good way and they've always had it. Same for the cheeseburger which I will vouch for. Their cheeseburger is good compared to what you usually have to settle for in Astana. I know my burgers, so trust me on this one. The cheeseburger at Caramel comes medium sized, with two slices of American (processed) cheese, lettuce and tomato on a grilled bun (ask the waiter to have it cut in half for easier handling). It arrives with french fries on the side, accompanied with ketchup in a metal gravy server. I'll rate it as one of the top three burgers I've had in Astana (like looking for buried treasure).

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caramel Coffee also viewed

Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 
Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 

Been to Caramel Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caramel Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.