We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manor House

Save Saved
You added Manor House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manor House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   #21 Street 262 | Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 258 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Manor House's Australian owner, David, and his staff make you feel right at home from the minute you arrive. They are a mine of information and helpful tips of what to see, where to eat and readily assist with transportation bookings.
First off we were met at the airport by a driver and car - totally unexpected but ever so welcome that they had thought to do this - this meant we arrived stress-free.
The rooms are clean and very comfortable, but are not new. That is not a criticism at all as the rooms are more than adequate with ceiling fans, air-con, bar fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and TV. The beds are very comfortable and clean, which is not always the case in SE Asia. The building was once the staff quarters of the Japanese Embassy - an interesting history.
The pool is so clean and refreshing and this is where you sit and have breakfast in the morning. Breakfast is a choice of juice, cereals, toast and a cooked breakfast - the omelettes are great! The atmosphere is such that it is easy to strike up conversations with other guests and share stories and this definitely added to my experience.
The location is superb, being in a quiet side street but just a 2 minute walk from the Independence Monument. It is also in an area that is home to several Embassies, Consulates and broad boulevards. Getting around is no problem as tuk tuks are at the gate of the Manor House compound and they are vetted by David to ensure his guests are not taken advantage of.
There is a wide array of restaurants within easy walking distance and David has several recommendations. My favourite was the Khmer Surin Restaurant - their fresh Spring Rolls are divine.
A one-hour sunset cruise (just a cruise, no meal) on the river is something David suggested and it was excellent. Nothing fancy but a great opportunity to get a different perspective of the city and despite the heat it was quite cooling to be out on the water.
I so enjoyed my three night stay there and if I was to go back to Phnom Penh I would definitely stay at the Manor House again - no question at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    50
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
57
65
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambodia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Manor House has a great pool, with poolside bar and breakfast area and very helpful staff in a great location. You can walk to either the Royal Palace area or the wide range of restaurants in the street 51, 278 and 282 area.

The Manor House is an enviable location in Phnom Penh as it is not surrounded by construction work. On the downside its sits at the back of the busy Vietnamese restaurant which can get a little noisy if you’re in the wrong room. All of the rooms seem very dark, however this is easily rectified by taking to a lounger by the pool.

After a series of long flights to finally arrive in Phnom Penh the owner, David, welcomed me with a cold beer and helped me order in a takeaway of Chicken Amok. This was just what I needed so Manor House gets my vote as one of Phnom Penh’s top guesthouses.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

manor house is a great place to stay. set in its own compound with a lovely salt water pool thats kept really clean and is shaded during most of the day which is great when trying to escape the heat. staff are extremely friendly and helpful. both the owner and manager were very helpful when booking transport for travelling outside of phnom penh. rooms are kept cleaned and washing left at our door in the morning was there in the afternoon well cleaned and folded. great breakfast every morning. we made friends with other guests and would recommend to our family and friends to stay here. evrywhere we wanted to go such as the royal palace, central and russian market and national museum are all close with tuktuks outside ready to take you. lots of lovely resturants close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Manor House is a good place to stay. David is such a great person very helpful and make you feel confortable and his place.
The swimming pool is important to struggle with the hit of the city.
The room are not new but are confy and large.
The breakfast is ok, nothin special.
It's a little bit pricy for Cambodia, Could be a little bit cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I would recommend the Manor House but read the reviews. I was here for four nights during a business trip to Phnom Penh. Breakfast was cooked well, with fruits and juices and cereal. In the evening it was a swim and a quiet drink by the salt water pool. The rooms are clean, simple and comfortable and the internet worked exceptionally well. I understand that the hotel has a no-children policy. Like many other hotel policies, it is important that they are accepted and followed by all guests.
I found the staff friendly, professional with a good command of English. They were able to provide information about places to eat and drink. All in all is was a relaxing and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: I had a room by the pool and it was quiet and I was not disturbed at all by any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Unfriendly, our kids (14 and 10) couldn't use the pool, because "policy" of the hotel. We will not recommend this hotel to families. We've explainded, that our kids can swim very well and they take care to other guests. No discussion and harsh answers from the staff. Ok, our kids could sit next to the pool and look how others are swimming. Part of the staff does not speak one word in English. No credit cards!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPhnomPenh, Owner at Manor House, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
This guest was a ‘walk-in” and my manager explained that we do not allow guests under the age of 18 years. The guest replied by saying he wanted a room for one night and that his children are quiet and would be in the room or they would be out. My manager relented and booked the guest in. These two children were then the pool and we had complaints re noise from other guests, hence they were asked to be quiet and leave the pool. It is not in the Khmer’s nature to give harsh answers, as in their culture they avoid confrontation at all costs. I have a staff of 7 and two have limited English skills, who do not usually come in contact with guests. I am proud of the fact that I can develop and give opportunities to underprivileged young adults of Cambodia. I was on reception when the guest checked out the next morning and he made no comment to me. He was given the choice of paying cash or credit card. We advertise, on our website and all agencies that only persons over the age of 18 are permitted to stay on the premises. We learn by our mistakes and our policy of no guests under the age 18 will be strictly adhered to in future.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful homestead well appointed with all the creature comforts you need. The staff are friendly and happy to share the do's and don't of the city.

The pool was a so refreshing in the heat of the day, and a great setting to enjoy breakfast.

Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House

Address: #21 Street 262 | Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor House is a gay and straight friendly boutique guesthouse with POOL located in the centre of Phnom Penh close to all attractions. All rooms are spotlessly clean with private bath, air condintioner, fridge/mini bar TV and Wi Fi. Our English speaking staff can look after all your requirements for your stay in Cambodia including tours and travel. Our beautiful salt water pool is a refreshing end to a hot day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.