We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in a busy city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Langka

Save Saved
You added Villa Langka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Langka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 14, Street 282, Phnom Penh BKK 1, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Trip Advisor Award!
Ranked #20 of 203 hotels in Phnom Penh
Oxford, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An Oasis in a busy city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

After a long and interesting day’s drive we were glad to step into the cool elegance of the reception area for our warm welcome.

There were always tuk-tuks available to take us to eat or explore Phnom Penh, and I learnt to carry a map and show the driver that I knew where I wanted to go and how to get there to save a long and circuitous route being taken!

The hotel was in a pleasant area, with a smart street at the end of the block where we understood the chief of police had a house, so we felt completely safe walking around there.

We had a room in the new wing, which might not have been characterful though certainly stylish, and in it we enjoyed probably the best lighting we have ever had in a hotel. We were on the top floor, so had a lovely view from our balcony of the monastery next door and the Independence Monument rising above the treetops as well as the attractive old part of the hotel and its leafy and refreshing pool area. The bathroom was great with a shower almost of swimming pool size, and the towels were fine. The bed was big and comfortable.

There were freshly-cooked items available for breakfast, but we learnt to be careful with the croissants - they could be yesterday’s! I didn’t like the breakfast coffee, but it was fine at other times of the day. We ate lunch and dinner at some stage during our stay, and enjoyed the food particularly the ceviche of sea bass.

We were very well treated, and were most impressed by the kindness we saw when we had a late check-out. We were unable to keep our room as it had been booked, but we were given a room in the nether regions of the original villa where we were able to leave our suitcases and shower and change before leaving for the airport. We couldn’t have asked for more.

Room Tip: We loved our modern room in the new wing, but we were told the rooms in the original building were m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for such an in-depth review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Villa Langka and your exploration of Phnom Penh. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the attentive service and food. I was surprised though to hear about the croissants – we have never had a reason to serve pastry from the day before. Croissants are prepared late in the evening – to be served fresh in the morning. We hope that during your next stay you will experience the unique rooms at the Old Villa which indeed possess the “character”.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    184
    56
    12
    4
See reviews for
56
176
67
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Spent a wonderful few days at Villa Langka. The pool is a refreshing, shady and relaxing oasis after a morning out in the city. Breakfast is great with lots of fresh fruit and the food quality is high with its mix of Asian and French choices. The staff are helpful and friendly. I would recommend the hotel to families and business travelers alike.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Langka. We appreciate that you commended our food quality and diversity, indeed apart from our regular a la carte menu we offer weekly specials to ensure that our guests always have an array of choices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We loved it here. Ok the room is a bit old fashioned but the bed is comfortable, the shower hot, the air conditioning cold and the wifi free. The TV had lots of football channels which pleased one of us! I like the scented flower on the bed too, a nice touch. But the hotel itself is charming, the rattan chairs around the place to sit on, the trees and grounds, the little pool, the bit where you could have a drink or dinner (which was very good and very reasonable) (we ate there twice, once french and once Laos both equally good) or breakfast. The place was designed for relaxing and the whole atmosphere was quiet and beautifully green.amazing considering how central the location is! It felt intimate and the staff were helpful and unobtrusive, the place was obviously very well managed. Breakfast was excellent. No problems with cold water or not getting a table referred to by other reviewers at all. I'd come again like a shot!

Room Tip: Ask for the old bit not the new extension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
This is such a motivating review! Thank you for sharing your opinion with us! It is very rewarding to receive such feedback. We are glad that your stay at Villa Langka and in Phnom Penh was a memorable experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ho chi minh city
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

First room was nice but no view and the bathroom was more like a cupboard. After requesting to change, even if the place was full packed after 2 nights, staff managed to give me an other room. I did enjoyed much better my stay in this hotel. Even this place was full booked, which with the extension, made the restaurant and the poolside really crowded, it was still a nice and relax atmosphere. I will recommend and come back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We are always happy to accommodate guests’ requests and it is very fortunate for us, that we were able to do so even being fully booked. Our pool and garden indeed boast a very special peaceful atmosphere, it’s great that you also shared this feelings. We hope to see you again at Villa Langka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We found the rooms really clean and the service was very efficient.
The hotel organized our transfers from the airport and back, and that was reasonably priced as well. Breakfast was simple and satisfactorily.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and happy that the value for money was up to your satisfaction. Thank you once again for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Langka for two nights in February, 2013 and found our accommodation most disappointing. Although we agree with other reviewers on Trip Advisor that this hotel is well located, we do not think this is the "perfect boutique hotel" in Phnom Penh. There is no hot water in the sink (there is no plumbing for it); there is no light over the sink for shaving; there are no shower curtains; the bed is very hard; and the tile floors are cracked and appear to be dirty. While we found the evening staff to be helpful, the day staff were less so. The food in the restaurant was of variable quality; the breakfast simply adequate. I was badly bitten by a spider during the night, and my husband got sick from the food at the restaurant. All in all, we would not choose to stay at the Villa Langka again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
It is sad to hear that your stay with us was such a “disappointment”. It seems that the hotel did not meet your requirements and expectations, we regret it! Concerning food at the restaurant, we haven't had any complaint but many positive feedback on the food quality!
We hope that despite your dissatisfaction with our hotel you have good memories of Phnom Penh and Cambodia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

A very peaceful, very well managed and homely boutique hotel. Excellent value and well located. Good wifi, very efficient staff, speaking good English, who were very keen to make the stay a great pleasure. Would certainly recommend this hotel for singles, doubles and families.

Room Tip: Go for a larger room, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for a positive review. The staff were happy to receive such a motivating feedback. Thank you for recommending Villa Langka and we sincerely hope to welcome you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Langka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Langka

Address: No 14, Street 282, Phnom Penh BKK 1, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#15 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Langka 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Boutique Hotel in an oasis of calm, Villa Langka offers a private hideaway in central Phnom Penh.Hidden in a fragrant garden surrounding a shady pool, Villa Langka Boutique Hotel overlooks the ancient spires of Wat Langka Pagoda and is located just around the corner from the Independence Monument and the popular street 278, with its shops, bars and restaurants.Villa Langka Boutique Hotel offers 48 unique rooms blending contemporary elegance with Cambodian traditions, 24 rooms in a traditional khmer villa and 24 rooms in a contemporary building.Escape from the heat and bustle of the city, relax and lose yourself in secluded tranquility.Ideal location and atmosphere for both leisure and business travelers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Langka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Langka Hotel Phnom Penh
Langka Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Langka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.