We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Langka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Langka to your Saves list
Villa Langka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 14, Street 282, Phnom Penh BKK 1, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while exploring Phnom Penh.

The hotel grounds were the best bit - a lovely pool with nice gardens surrounding them - good to sit a relax after a hot day of walking around the city.

The rooms were very nice - we stayed in the newer section of the hotel. Comfortable bed and nice bathroom.

We found the restaurant a little disappointing - the food was a little plain. The breakfast was nice, but service was a little chaotic with lots of people squeezing into the corner where it was served.

Location was great - about a 5 minute tuk tuk ride to the centre of the city and within walking distance of a lot of restaurants.

Staff were also very lovely and went out of their way to help.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing with us your stay at Villa Langka. We are very happy that you enjoyed hotel facilities and room comfort. Also we well noted your remark concerning breakfast.

We do look forward to welcome you back in a soon future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    212
    65
    15
    5
See reviews for
74
195
74
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chedworth
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights. This is a lovely boutique hotel with helpful staff, good pool side service for food and drink and comfortable accommodation. The rooms are a mix between old charm and modern and whilst we would have preferred old, we booked too late but the new wing rooms have all you need and we had a small balcony as well.
Location is good for many good restaurants in the area and a tuk tuk to the main markets and waterfront is cheap.
There is a temple over the road so you may occasionally hear the morning rituals but thats part of the holiday! And its not that early.
Would stay here again if we were in PP. There are many flash hotels but why pay more when you can relax here?

Room Tip: Go for old charm if you can get a room in the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Many thanks for your review. We are happy we could provide a comfortable and relaxing stay. We are delighted that you would stay again with us if you stay in Phnom Penh and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Though Villa Langka is a stylish boutique hotel in a good location, our overall experience staying there recently was disappointing. We planned to stay at the hotel for three nights. On our second afternoon there, we received a phone call informing us that there had been a mix-up with the reservation and that we would have to check out the next day. The staff told us that the hotel had double-booked the room for our third night and since we were only staying at the hotel three nights and the other couple was staying there longer, they preferred to kick us out. To Villa Langka's credit, they arranged a room for us at their nearby sister hotel, Aqua, and helped us drive our bags over the next day. Unfortunately, our room at Aqua was smaller and less nice than our room at Villa Langka -- and cost the same. There were various other minor inconveniences associated with the move, such as that we couldn't have breakfast because Aqua's breakfast starts notably later than VL's. In any case, we understand that mistakes happen. But what disappointed us most was that the staff at Villa Langka did not seem apologetic and, beyond helping us find another place to stay, did nothing to make up for the inconvenience.

There were some other aspects of our stay at Villa Langka that were disappointing. For example, we never had hot water. We asked the staff if something was wrong and they said that they would check things out, but unfortunately, nothing changed. The bathroom "amenities" also seemed rather lacking. Finally, we arranged with VL to be picked up for our onward travel to Siem Reap and the transport arrived half an hour late, jeopardizing our pre-purchased tickets. On the positive side of things, the breakfast was decent and our hotel-arranged driver for sightseeing was very good.

But ultimately -- after staying at other places in Cambodia and talking to other tourists -- our judgment is that travelers to Phnom Penh can do better than Villa Langka for the price. You can stay at places in Cambodia with great customer service, consistent hot water, and rooms that are both stylish and comfortable without paying an arm and a leg. Villa Langka is not one of them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We regret to hear that your stay with us was disappointing, as we always aim to exceed the expectations of our guests.

Unfortunately your booking was not confirmed and guaranteed before your arrival with our Reservation Officer. I sincerely apologize if staff attitude disappointed you. They are usually recognized to be very friendly and helpful persons.

Concerning transportation pick up we will inform the private bus company about their late.

Thank you for positive comments about breakfast and driver.

I genuinely hope that you will return to us during your next visit to Phnom Penh, and give us the chance to thoroughly exceed your expectations.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Behind Wat Lanka and the Independence monument and park in BKK1, Villa Langka in Cambodia is a very pleasant place to stay. They have a pool that helps you cool off after a hot day out, free wi-fi, nice breakfast. The hotel is clean and the service is good. Love the Jasmine flowers on your bed at nightime :) Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for the review. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We all hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Villa Langka very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I visited Phnom Penh for one week for work, and Villa Langka was recommended by a colleague who had stayed there before. It was a lovely, peaceful place to stay with all mod cons. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the facilities (swimming pool, bar, free wifi) excellent. The breakfast, included in the tariff, was delicious (you must try the pineapple/passion fruit jam!) and you could also buy reasonably-priced light meals from the bar area. It is easy to hail a tuk-tuk outside the hotel gate if you need to go somewhere. At the end of my stay I organised a taxi to the airport via hotel reception – it was good value, arrived on time, and got me to the airport safely. I would stay at Villa Langka again without hesitation – it was one of the nicest places I’ve stayed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are all delighted we could provide such satisfying experience for you.It's great to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and F&B offer.

Again, thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Phnom Penh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A friendly small hotel with a lovely swimming pool in an ideal location in the city. The rooms are modern and the best bathroom of the whole trip.. Chosen for us by buffallo tours. Good breakfast choice and a real buzz about the place. A great hotel for our final night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Phnom Penh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have been honeymooning in SEasia for a little over three weeks and this is one of our favourite hotels that we have stayed in. Comfortable, quirky, clean and great location. Staff are very friendly and always willing to help. They noted our honeymoon and made a real effort with our room, displaying jasmine flowers and rose petals- very romantic! Easy walking distance from riverfront and lots of great wee restaurants! On the otherhand if you don't want to walk the tuk tuks are parked outside and are easy to bargin with!!! Would stay here again if we revisit Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
I would like to thank you for your feedback and positive comments about your stay at Villa Langka.

Look forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Langka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Langka

Address: No 14, Street 282, Phnom Penh BKK 1, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#23 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Langka 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Boutique Hotel in an oasis of calm, Villa Langka offers a private hideaway in central Phnom Penh.Hidden in a fragrant garden surrounding a shady pool, Villa Langka Boutique Hotel overlooks the ancient spires of Wat Langka Pagoda and is located just around the corner from the Independence Monument and the popular street 278, with its shops, bars and restaurants.Villa Langka Boutique Hotel offers 48 unique rooms blending contemporary elegance with Cambodian traditions, 24 rooms in a traditional khmer villa and 24 rooms in a contemporary building.Escape from the heat and bustle of the city, relax and lose yourself in secluded tranquility.Ideal location and atmosphere for both leisure and business travelers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Langka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Langka Hotel Phnom Penh
Langka Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Langka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.