We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing accommodation in Phnom Penh!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fancy Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fancy Guest House
169B, Chan Reachea (St. 15), Phnom Penh 12205, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 258 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing accommodation in Phnom Penh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Fancy Guesthouse is a fantastic place to stay in Phnom Penh, Cambodia. The staff are very friendly, always happy to help & offer extra security for your belongings. I went to Thailand for a week & they were more than happy to look after my extra luggage so that I could take just what I needed. The rooms were great value, very clean & included free bottled water. Highly recommended :-D

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    113
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
27
135
71
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

very clean and great value for money, and very friendly staff! we moved here from longlin where we were dropped by tuk tuk driver. would definitely recommend. great location near to riverfront and central market.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The manager and his sons are all exceptionally friendly and eager to help with anything. We were given help without asking e.g. getting cheap Tuk tuks, buying bus tickets and help with directions. The location of the guest house is excellent; it is quiet but only 5 minutes walk from the riverside where all the bars and restaurants are located. You can also walk to the royal palace, silver pagoda, central market and (a bit further) wat Penh. Our room had an awesome balcony and it was cleaned every day; we were given lots of complimentary toiletries, clean towels and drinking water everyday. However, the staff did not bother us at all and cleaned the room when we were out. The bathroom was small but very clean, and the bed was comfortable. Wifi signal was excellent and we had no problems with the connection during our 3 night stay. Highly recommended.. thankyou Phannak!

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little extra for a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renmark, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Had an easy and comfortable stay at Fancy Guest House. Very friendly staff and good value for money. Provided with complimentary water each day :) Staff were all very helpful and happy to organize tours/tuk tuk's to transport around city. Located close to central area of city (incl places to eat, shopping, riverside). Upon arrival I was also picked up from bus station by Tuk Tuk (at no cost) and then dropped off at airport by car (for approximately $10).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spend 1 night at this place 'cause it was my partner's birthday. We travelling for more than 6 months trough Asia and normally we go to cheaper rooms, but it was USD$25 worth it!
It was very quiet, we were on the 3th floor and had a very nice view on the terrace. We had a great time chilling on the terrace and looking to everyone on the street. You get free coffee and tea and you have a waterboiler so you can eat some instant noodles, which we loved!
The owner is a very friendly and helpfull man. He explained a lot about Phnom Penh, but we already been there before and saw most of the things. He arranged a taxi for us for $10 to go to the airport, which was very friendly because the traffic was so hectic! We were so lucky to find his great hotel 'cause the week before we stayed in Spring guesthouse and it was the worst room I've ever been.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Mr Phanak was very patient in replying my email prior the visit, regarding room reservation, pick up,transport from siem riep, and he even help us to arrange the city tour at a very reasonable price and comfortable car. We visited s21,killing field , Russian market,then back to the river side to have great lunch at khmer serovan restaurant(not quite sure about the name of the restaurant but is very near the river side) which was introduced by mr phanak'bro, then followed by central market and finally send us to bus top near olympic stadium , the whole tour only cost 30 usd,shared between four of us. Mr Phanak and his family were very friendly as well.

the room is 30 usd per night for a family room(4ppl), is very big and clean! the location is very strategic, within walking distance to river side, royal palace,national museum and central market.

regarding the amenities, we like the free WIFI and two free public computer,money exchange is also available here.

however the bus going to HCMC that they convinced us to buy,khai nam is not that comfortable, the cushion is very hard,though is quite spacious, and the bus stop at Quan5 instead of fam ngu lao street which most bus stopped.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Great service from Mr. Phannak and his family. Mr. Phannak and gracious wife were very accommodating, his equally pleasant brother even took time to arrange our Mekong Express pick-up from Fancy GH. We stayed overnight only hence, we took the opportunity to explore PP at nighttime in a bit - thanks to the tuktuk ride arranged by Mr. Phannak and sumptuous meal at the recommended Khmer Surin. The room was spacious with clean sheets, very good t/b, and wifi. They do not serve breakfast but they do have a mini-store at the waiting area where you can ask for hot water. We'll definitely stay again at Fancy GH.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fancy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancy Guest House

Address: 169B, Chan Reachea (St. 15), Phnom Penh 12205, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Fancy Guest House Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fancy Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fancy Guest House to your Saves list