We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful garden” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel to your Saves list
The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   #25, Street 71, Phnom Penh 12300, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful garden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted somewhere within walking distance to the Genocide Museum (Tuol Sleng Museum) but in retrospect there aren't many places to eat and drink in this part of town. By the time we saw the other tourist sites we would have been better off getting a hotel near the centre of town or at least a little north of the museum - perhaps Frangipanis other hotel (Villa-60s).

The accommodation itself was nice. Lovely lush garden to chill out in and have breakfast. Large rooms with polished concrete floors and decent bed. Staff were nice but their English wasn't that good.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    66
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
14
61
27
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
476 reviews 476 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

The room was large and comfortable. It was cleaned daily and nicely yet simply furnished.

Looking a bit tired with cracks in bathroom ceiling and marks around the edges

Breakfast ok where you order of a list.
Service efficient rather than homely
Would stay here again

Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

We were given a room with a slantered roof on the last floor. The staff apologized and explained it was only because we were not staying for long. We loved it however. I must say the architect or interior designer is a genius. He's done great work to the place. It looks very modern, beautiful, a bit like a loft, with a lot of sun coming in. The bathroom was large and comfortable, could not get the water however stabilized to the right temperature, it was always too hot or too cold. The receptionist, Vandy, was extremely nice and helpful making us sightseeing arrangements, and getting us a cab, making sure we were not getting ripped off. All in all, great experience. I'm surely booking again when i happen to be in Phnom Penh.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We arrived in Phnom Penh by bus from Ho Chi Minh City and stayed at this hotel for just one night since we had to catch another bus to Siem Reap the next morning. But the short stay was lovely. We were upgraded to a suite since the regular room we booked was not available. The hotel is located near the Genocide Museum and a great Indian Vegetarian restaurant next door named Coriander. The bed was slightly hard but wasn't too much of a problem.

Breakfast was great with lots of food! And the cats roaming around make breakfast much more enjoyable. All in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Okay, so I had been having a wonderful trip through Cambodia until I reached Phnom Penh. I hated this city and I will never return, if it wasn't for this FANTASTIC hotel I would have booked a flight home. During my time in PP it rained heavily and flooded the streets and I was stuck inside my hotel. The hotel is a boutique and there were only a few people staying there at the time. This hotel in right in the middle of the busy city but you would never know because it was so quite and serene. The hotel had a wonderful area to sit undercover and I spent two entire days there reading with peaceful music, tea and the warm breeze. the staff were amazing and so helpful! They were friendly and I felt safe in their care. The meals and extras were so inexpensive and the staff wouldn't even accept tips! This place saved my holiday and is such a beautiful place to stay!

Room Tip: The rooms are very well priced so get a suite if you can. However, beware of the showers/baths becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Not a bad location. Breakfast is uninspired but nothing wrong with it. The rooms are pleasant and everything (WiFi, air conditioning, etc.) works. Except maybe the shower hot water supply, but if you take cold showers anyway in this climate then that's not an issue.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I stayed at this place for a quite long time, three weeks. I absolutely loved my spacious room that felt more like a home than a hotel room. Also the little garden where restaurant is, is beautiful. The best thing of all was the super friendly, kind and serving staff that works there. They went beyond all expectations in serving me. I can truly recommend this place and I am missing it already!

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel

Address: #25, Street 71, Phnom Penh 12300, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frangipani Villa-90s Hotel is a 1990s villa restored in the style 1960’s Cambodia architecture with some contemporary touches. The hotel provides suite, studio, double and twin room accommodation. Comfortable seating for relaxing at any time of the day or for informal meetings are available on the roof top terrace and on a shady first floor balcony. Food and drinks are served throughout the day in the shady restaurant immediately adjacent to a well designed and extensively planted garden. The hotel is located in southern central Phnom Penh a short tuk-tuk ride from the city’s popular Tuol Tom Poung Market (Russian Market) and providing ready access to other sites throughout the city. A mini-mart, coffee shop and ATM are two minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Expedia so you can book your The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.